cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEA Test

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,002
Thanks: 947
Fixes: 388
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: GEA Test

@lzjoker It means there may be a fault on the phone line.

Do you use it at all?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎23-10-2012

Re: GEA Test

Hi,

That's my line been fixed. Could I get a test now to see my new speeds after line has been sorted?

Thanks
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,002
Thanks: 947
Fixes: 388
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: GEA Test

@DeclanTM New GEA test below

 

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0003
Description No problem found, OAM test is not currently supported on this line.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 78.3 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 362.9
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2017-07-20T17:00:00
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-09-2012

Re: GEA Test

Yes occasionally the landline is used, can I get another GEA test reading please as the last one had half the info missing judging by the others posted here.

 

thanks 

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,174
Thanks: 1,443
Fixes: 253
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: GEA Test

 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0003
Description No problem found, OAM test is not currently supported on this line.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 72.2 Mbps
Upstream Speed 18.7 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Voice fault suspected - contact Voice CP to progress copper issue
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 663.8
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed Daily
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence ; 00:00 to 23:45
Interference Location Customer Premise
Interference Observed In Days 14
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 4dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2017-07-13T15:45:00

 

I've also reported the phone fault. Sorry this wasn't done sooner.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-09-2012

Re: GEA Test

Can i get an updated test now that the engineer has been.

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,513
Thanks: 5,446
Fixes: 921
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: GEA Test

Sure.

 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0003
Description No problem found, OAM test is not currently supported on this line.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 73.7 Mbps
Upstream Speed 18.4 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 663.8
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed Daily
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence ; 00:00 to 23:45
Interference Location Customer Premise
Interference Observed In Days 14
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 4dB, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2017-07-14T17:30:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 62.6 Mbps 77.5 Mbps 75.0 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 18.4 Mbps 18.6 Mbps 18.5 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 897.7 Sec
Retrains 0.0 3.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2017-07-27T15:54:53Z 2017-07-27T16:09:53Z
Ingress Code Violation 1 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 21
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: GEA Test

May I ask, out of curiosity, what is meant by a "GEA test"?

 

About 20 minutes googling tells me "GEA" stands for "Generic ethernet access". It seems be  something provided by Plusnet to their customers. Or maybe BT to Plusnet.  Can anyone point me to something that specifies what GEA is? Or, even better, what a GEA test actually tests?  (I'm always very suspicious of TLAs...). 

 

 

Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: GEA Test

The test results that you've been provided with are results from a test that's been run via tool provided by our suppliers, the same test that all ISP's use (whether they use it in the same capacity as we do, is unknown).

The test (as far as I know), is software driven and reports back on details regarding your connection. I believe the information we pull back is provided by BT which pulls the information from your Local Exchange per our request to test your connection.

I wrote a guide on what those tests look like here: http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/broadband-faults-guide-our-testing/ (I wrote this a while ago but it should be still relevant).

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎25-07-2017

Re: GEA Test

Hi,

Please can I also have a GEA test for my line?

Thanks
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: GEA Test

Me too as my line is in sync at 72mbit yet i'm now only getting 20mbit down... Same fault as a few weeks back so i would be interested to see what the test says thnx

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 23,863
Thanks: 4,178
Fixes: 1,070
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: GEA Test

Moderators Note.

This thread is now locked as it would be best for those that are having issues to start a new thread with any relevant information contained within. This will also enable any test results to be placed in that thread and all information kept in one place.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'