cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEA Line test request

FIXED
burnduck
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-06-2015

GEA Line test request

Hi Plusnet,

Following my recent Openreach fault repair can you please provide me with a GEA report?

It would be nice if you could check the caution counter and let me know the current threshold.

Thanks!
15 REPLIES
burnduck
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-06-2015

Re: GEA Line test request

Anyone from Plusnet please? Smiley

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,965
Thanks: 2,821
Fixes: 443
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

Here you go... Though I don't think the information you're wanting is on our tests. Sad

 

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 74.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 138.3
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Profile Name 0.128M-74M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-01-05T15:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 73.9 Mbps 73.9 Mbps 73.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps
Up Time 612.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 899.7 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-01-17T14:17:02Z 2018-01-17T14:32:02Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
burnduck
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-06-2015

Re: GEA Line test request

Thanks Gandalf, it's good to know what the line is currently doing. 

 

Is it possible for you to check when my DLM profile is going to put back up again? 

I've had a fault (copper joint issue) which caused disconnection every 5-10 minutes in the first week of activation, the fault was identified and fixed by an openreach engineer, but when I asked about DLM reset they weren't sure and didn't do anything there. 

I'm pretty confident my line is capable of more than 74M, is there anything you can do to make get my line back to the open profile / 0-80M? Or maybe an idea of how much longer before my line speed is boosted? That would be helpful too. 

 

Thanks! 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,965
Thanks: 2,821
Fixes: 443
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

Fix

Is it possible for you to check when my DLM profile is going to put back up again? 

It's not something we can check. As an ISP we have absolutely no control over fibre DLM I'm afraid.

 

DLM should reset the profile in due course if your line remains stable. I can't provide a timeframe sadly.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
burnduck
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-06-2015

Re: GEA Line test request

Are you able to repeat this test for me please?

 

On the plusnet Current Line Speed page it's now reporting 77.4 Mb (71Mb before), but I am not seeing speed improvement. (I was expecting maybe 4-5Mbps of increase)

 

Thanks! 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,965
Thanks: 2,821
Fixes: 443
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

Sure thing:

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 80.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 137.0
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-74M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-01-10T12:45:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 73.9 Mbps 79.9 Mbps 75.2 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps
Up Time 865.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 899.9 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-01-23T12:17:29Z 2018-01-23T12:32:29Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 1
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

It looks like your sync rate is now 80mbps, so I've updated the speed profile on your account to 78000kbps.

Due to the way the system works, that's the maximum it goes up to.

 

It's also possible that the DLM profile at 74mbps is limiting your throughput.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
burnduck
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-06-2015

Re: GEA Line test request

Thanks Galdalf! 

 

I had to recycle the PPPoE connection (i have separate openreach modem) and I'm now seeing just under 74Mbps, progress! Thanks for that! 

 

Like you said it's more than like I'm now reaching the DLM ceiling considering it's spot on with the profile. At this point I'll happily wait for things to improve further. 

 

Question though, the 78000kbps you mentioned, was it another limiting factor? Can you briefly tell me what that is or how it work, so that I'll know for the future? 

 

Thanks! 

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,965
Thanks: 2,821
Fixes: 443
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

I'm glad to hear things have improved.

 

Question though, the 78000kbps you mentioned, was it another limiting factor? Can you briefly tell me what that is or how it work, so that I'll know for the future? 

The speed profile on your account/current line speed in the member centre should match the IP profile, but occasionally the system is a bit slow to update automatically. From time to time, it needs a nudge.

 

This profile doesn't affect a lot of users anymore, but due to the way that connections with static IPs are routed across our network, it does unfortunately limit throughput if set too low. I posted more info on this here a while ago.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Shep41
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 157
Thanks: 46
Fixes: 1
Registered: 31-05-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

If you compare the two gea test. Look closely and the line length is different by 1.3 metres. Has your house suffered from subsidence 🤣🤣🤣🤣..why should the line length differ?Huh
burnduck
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-06-2015

Re: GEA Line test request

I hope I don't have a subsidence problem as I've only just moved in! Grin

Your question got me googling and looks like they test it by "Time-domain reflectometer", I suppose there's a degree of accuracy and therefore it could vary a little.

 

Or maybe my house was subsiding. Lips are sealed

 

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time-domain_reflectometer

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules.

RealAleMadrid
All Star
Posts: 823
Thanks: 325
Fixes: 15
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: GEA Line test request

Have you noticed that the GEA test says "estimated line length" so it's a bit of a guess and not an actual measurement.Crazy3

Shep41
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 157
Thanks: 46
Fixes: 1
Registered: 31-05-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

@RealAleMadrid..... I only aim to be 100% perfect. 98% of the time 🤣
Shep41
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 157
Thanks: 46
Fixes: 1
Registered: 31-05-2017

Re: GEA Line test request

@RealAleMadrid..... I only aim to be 100% perfect. 98% of the time 🤣. Most of my posts are during the night when normal folks should be sleeping.. 😀
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,283
Thanks: 777
Fixes: 46
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: GEA Line test request

Fail.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy