cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEA Line Test Request

FIXED
geforce
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-10-2013

GEA Line Test Request

Hi Plusnet Support,

Can you provide me with the results of a GEA line test, please?

 

Thanks

11 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,809
Thanks: 108
Fixes: 34
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: GEA Line Test Request

Fix

GEA.JPG

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 09-05-2009

Re: GEA Line Test Request

May i please request a GEA please. Is this a test to show the condition of my line and the speeds achievable ignoring PN settings or indeed BTW settings?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: GEA Line Test Request

The GEA shows the raw sync data available to us. I'll grab that for you now.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: GEA Line Test Request

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0001
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found but unable to check for customer equipment connected to modem.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 38.2 Mbps
Upstream Speed 10.2 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 725.9
Upstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Profile Name 0.128M-55M Downstream 6dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 09-05-2009

Re: GEA Line Test Request

Thank you Chris.....now what does it mean? I truly believed that my line was capable of a higher download speed than 38/39 .I realise PN has reduced my upstream speed. My router/modem is showing 151 error pkts upstream with 34 dB att. downstream no errors and 6 db att. is this normal?

oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 09-05-2009

Re: GEA Line Test Request

The GEA looks good and I'm told that I have G.INP which is also a plus. My DSLCHECK shows  57.1 to 43.5 clean and 44 to 25 Impacted.I seem to be on the Impacted range ,why?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: GEA Line Test Request

There's no way to put you on a specific range, the sync speed you receive is down to the capabilities of your line. If you're below the estimates it's worth reporting a fault for us to investigate.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: GEA Line Test Request

It could mean one of a few things, there's some good info here:

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/6173-bt-wholesale-checker-adds-more-information-for-fibre-connect...

The article tends to suggest that it could be your internal wiring.

It could also possibly be crosstalk - noise being caused by other user's connections. This can cause an effect over your sync rates over time.

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 09-05-2009

Re: GEA Line Test Request

When fibre first came the master socket was changed and the internal wiring sorted by OR. At the outset the speeds were quite high but with increased traffic then I expected a drop. Plusnet advised me that as I was an average web user that the 40/20 would be my best ,most cost effective, choice. I feel that I'm now "stuck" in this banding and come what may the 55/10 will not give me download improvement but will impinge on,as it already does, on my upload. I really feel conned by Plusnet.

oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 09-05-2009

Re: GEA Line Test Request

Oh and the estimated "line length" on the GEA seems to be well over the top by anything from 30% to 50% dependant on which route I take following cable ducts.

geforce
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 30-10-2013

Re: GEA Line Test Request

Could I have another GEA test result please?