cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G.inp Enabled ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

G.inp Enabled ?

Can somebody have a quick look please to see if G.INP is enabled or not on my line.
Many thanks
9 REPLIES
Haybasha
Rising Star
Posts: 157
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎07-05-2014

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

Actually and apologies as I don't want to hijack your thread but once G.INP does go live do you need a reboot or does the modem resync when the change goes through?
I use a ZyXel SBG3300-N and through the modem interface or DSLStats can see G.INP is not yet activated on my line.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

@11110_110
Your line has G.INP on:
0.128M-44M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-7.2M Upstream, Retransmission Low
Haybasha,
You shouldn't need to reboot. 
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

@30_6
Is that the ECI modem?
If so, I though G.INP wasn't enabled for upstream.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

Cheers Chris, just curious because the ECI Modem is still holding steady @37.50/5.35 spiking to 37.93 at some points via Sam.
I've had another hike in ping today by 2ms, can't wait to see if BT/OR can get that ping down to the 10ms mark again with this modem.

I do prefer the ECI in all honesty for stability so far.
Yes npr, Very Stable!
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

Quote from: npr
I thought G.INP wasn't enabled for upstream.

No nor me.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

I assume the big step up on the 28th is when you changed from Huawei to ECI. Do you know if BT have actually started the trial yet, I'm guessing not with upstream G.INP being enabled.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

I've not heard back yet, so no idea wha-gwaan with the trial. Yeah that's the change over you can see from 10ms to 16, and now 18ms.
Changeover form Huawei to ECI
InterZoom
Rising Star
Posts: 198
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎15-08-2014

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

Quote from: 11110_110
I do prefer the ECI in all honesty for stability so far.

Interesting you should say that.
I actually prefer the ECI modem too - which is one reason I was happy to just wait for a fix if PlusNet/Openreach had replied quickly and straightforwardly, "Yes, it's a problem, we know about it, it wasn't anticipated but it will be fixed." (I know: I live in fantasy land!)
Although the Huawei modem removes the easily measurable extra latency from the unnecessary interleaving, it does seem - subjectively - to introduce some kind of latency or instability of its own.
Perhaps the Huawei has a larger buffer than the ECI or something?
I have no feasible way of properly disentangling the apparent effect from some current BTw issues down my way, but it does seem to be that even without full G.INP "compatibility" the ECI is perceptibly "faster" in general use.
As I said in my original thread, I was always happy with it and hadn't previously felt a need to get and unlock an HG612 just for the stats...
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: G.inp Enabled ?

Quote from: InterZoom
As I said in my original thread, I was always happy with it and hadn't previously felt a need to get and unlock an HG612 just for the stats...

Indeed you did.
Well, I guess more than 1 or 2 of of us got caught up in the .G.INP Madness...
I'm not seeing the movement I expected as previously thought, but then again I wasn't sure if my ECI modem was going to be ofey with G.INP or not.
Previous tests..
Quote from: 11110_110
Changeover form Huawei to ECI






[tt]
==============DNS Response times various========================
Nameserver          Response Time (ms)
                    min/avg/max/stdev/retries
192.168.0.12        1.33/1.34/1.37/0.01/0
192.168.0.15        1.98/2.02/2.10/0.05/0
212.118.241.1      18.59/19.11/19.45/0.28/0
212.118.241.33      19.26/19.48/19.73/0.15/0
83.170.64.2        18.78/19.10/19.46/0.27/0
195.12.4.247        19.03/19.31/19.47/0.16/0
212.159.13.50      22.35/23.23/23.55/0.45/0
192.168.0.254      23.27/23.95/25.31/0.76/0
8.8.8.8            19.45/19.88/20.32/0.29/0
8.8.4.4            19.41/19.56/19.70/0.11/0
4.2.2.1            19.47/19.69/19.95/0.15/0
4.2.2.6            19.55/19.70/19.87/0.10/0
208.67.222.220      19.01/19.42/19.71/0.26/0
208.67.222.222      18.60/19.14/19.47/0.37/0

==============Ping Response times bbc.co.uk======================
Host                                Loss%  Snt  Last  Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
1. 192.168.0.254                    0.0%  102    1.1  1.0  0.9  1.3  0.0
2. 195.166.128.187                  0.0%  102  20.7  21.4  17.8  76.5  9.4
3. 212.159.2.182                    0.0%  102  18.1  18.4  17.8  21.1  0.4
4. 212.159.0.214                    0.0%  102  17.9  20.2  17.5  65.7  7.1
5. 195.166.129.2                    0.0%  101  18.4  20.3  17.8  72.3  6.4
6. 195.166.129.4                    0.0%  101  18.0  22.2  17.4  90.7  12.0
7. 212.58.239.6                      0.0%  101  18.3  19.0  17.4  60.0  4.8
8. Huh
9. Huh
10. 132.185.254.109                  0.0%  101  18.2  18.8  18.2  21.3  0.5
11. 132.185.255.149                  1.0%  101  19.5  19.4  18.6  23.9  0.6
12. 212.58.244.20                    0.0%  101  18.2  18.4  17.8  19.9  0.3
[tt]
I can't offer anything further, that would need to be tested by someone on 80/20.