cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G.INP suddenly gone from line

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,943
Thanks: 1,472
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

I think I know why this has happened and it's unlikely it's anything to do with what you've done locally.

I've cause to believe it may be an Openreach initiated thing.

I expect you'll see g.inp reapplied at some point. Not sure when though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

@bobpullen Bob are you saying that Openreach are turning off G.INP on ECI lines ?  because I was enabled yesterday with negative effect you can see my post here

https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/IP-Profile-Drop-on-the-download/td-p/1323625

i'm trying to find out what's going on because it's not behaving how it should be it would make sense if something is amiss and openreach are looking into it but then why was i enabled yesterday if openreach think something isn't going right.

 

 

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

bob please clarify for the community if g.inp has been suspended or not, thank you.
Haybasha
Rising Star
Posts: 157
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎07-05-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

@bobpullen Can you clarify what you know as G.INP was far better on my line?

As I've said I've lost some 9Mbps of download speed and my ping has also doubled now it's off.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

I mean the rollout, not just for your line, there is still people who havent been migrated to g.inp yet.

Haybasha
Rising Star
Posts: 157
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎07-05-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

Hmmm strange goings on, just checked my PlusNet Profile and it shows this:

 

Phone exchange:

SUNDERLAND NORTH

Estimated line speed:

50Mb (This may vary between 38.3Mb and 50.8Mb) - Checked on 2016-03-16 18:12:49

Current line speed:

78 Mb

No idea how my Current line speed is now showing as 78Mb when it's usually around 51 to 52Mb 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,943
Thanks: 1,472
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

To my knowledge, retransmission has been disabled from certain ECI lines it was recently enabled on. If you're one of those affected, it doesn't necessarily mean you were having problems.

If you did benefit from the change, then I'm fairly certain you'll see g.inp reapplied at some point.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

@bobpullen Thanks for the reply Bob any reason why they did that and what about those like myself that had a negative effect are they doing anything about that ? seems strange they would disable on those where it was working ok

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,943
Thanks: 1,472
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

Don't take my word for it, but probably an exercise in caution. Hopefully to sort issues like yours.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

@bobpullen Thanks again for the reply Bob hopefully they can sort it out as they did with the Huawei roll out although maybe not so long to do it :smiley:.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,328
Thanks: 42
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

So this explains why 3 days ago my speed suddenly dropped by 8Mbps having previously suddenly achieved my best ever speeds. However, it's not really affecting my service so I'll patiently await for things to revert once OR are happy.:crazy2:

Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

As i Stated in my own thread it Seems that Around 1am G.INP may have been turned off I'm back up to what i normally would be, I have asked CRT for Clarification, Looks like we may have a similar situation as we did with the first  Huawei rollout.    

ray_dorset
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2016

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

I don't think the HH5A supports G.INP at all. Mine certainly doesn't.

Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

I'm Using the Openreach ECI modem and that doesn't seem to work either so i dunno maybe firmware updates are needed or a new DLM profile just for ECI although how that would work i have no clue,  I dunno. 

etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 240
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎21-02-2016

Re: G.INP suddenly gone from line

I think the HH5A and hub one support G.INP on download side only iirc

I'm sure someone from plusnet can clarify that.
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a :thumbsup: