cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G.INP on upstream?

dannyboy75
Rising Star
Posts: 109
Thanks: 20
Registered: ‎06-08-2015

G.INP on upstream?

For no reason other than curiosity, I wanted to check if G.INP is enabled on my line. Looking at the stats from my HG612, it looks like it's enabled on the downstream, but I can't tell if it's enabled upstream too. I'm pretty sure my cabinet is a Huawei, so am I right in saying I should have G.INP upstream too?

These are the stats from the modem (I haven't posted the whole log as it's quite long).

Thanks for any advice.

 

Max:    Upstream rate = 11362 Kbps, Downstream rate = 57216 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 11329 Kbps, Downstream rate = 57587 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State:       L0
Mode:                   VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile:          Profile 17a
TPS-TC:                 PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis:                U:ON /D:ON
Line Status:            No Defect
Training Status:        Showtime
                Down            Up
SNR (dB):        3.3             6.3
Attn(dB):        20.2            0.0
Pwr(dBm):        13.7            7.4
                        VDSL2 framing
                        Bearer 0
MSGc:           -6              26
B:              227             237
M:              1               1
T:              0               43
R:              12              16
S:              0.1259          0.6675
L:              15247           3044
D:              4               1
I:              240             127
N:              240             254
Q:              4               0
V:              0               0
RxQueue:                140             0
TxQueue:                35              0
G.INP Framing:          18              0
G.INP lookback:         31              0
RRC bits:               0               24
                        Bearer 1
MSGc:           122             -6
B:              0               0
M:              2               0
T:              2               0
R:              16              0
S:              8.0000          0.0000
L:              32              0
D:              1               0
I:              32              0
N:              32              0
Q:              0               0
V:              0               0
RxQueue:                0               0
TxQueue:                0               0
G.INP Framing:          0               0
G.INP lookback:         0               0
RRC bits:               0               0
                        Counters
                        Bearer 0
OHF:            0               554018
OHFErr:         0               243
RS:             2007679284              1809584
RSCorr:         85307106                1836
RSUnCorr:       0               0
                        Bearer 1
OHF:            46204264                0
OHFErr:         0               0
RS:             369633618               0
RSCorr:         97001           0
RSUnCorr:       0               0

                        Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx:         60025992                0
rtx_c:          25583644                0
rtx_uc:         0               0

                        G.INP Counters
LEFTRS:         8787            0
minEFTR:        57471           0
errFreeBits:    648830814               0

                        Bearer 0
HEC:            0               0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    214071359               0
Data Cells:     1168554178              0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

                        Bearer 1
HEC:            0               0
OCD:            0               0
LCD:            0               0
Total Cells:    0               0
Data Cells:     0               0
Drop Cells:     0
Bit Errors:     0               0

ES:             0               232
SES:            0               0
UAS:            26              26
AS:             742175

                        Bearer 0
INP:            52.00           0.00
INPRein:        1.00            0.00
delay:          0               0
PER:            0.00            7.20
OR:             0.01            35.53
AgR:            57713.15        11364.61

                        Bearer 1
INP:            2.00            0.00
INPRein:        2.00            0.00
delay:          0               0
PER:            16.06           0.01
OR:             63.75           0.01
AgR:            63.75   0.01

Bitswap:        391797/392114           21629/21702

5 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,187
Thanks: 1,837
Fixes: 158
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: G.INP on upstream?

Moderator's Note

Topic released from spam filter.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 63.0 (64-bit)

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: G.INP on upstream?

I can't answer your specific question but G.INP on upstream has a mind of its own

Mine changes from enabled to disabled for no apparent reason as well as upstream interleaving

this link gives a bit of background with stats for my connection http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,20557.msg360399.html#msg360399

tiffy
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Re: G.INP on upstream?

@dannyboy75

From many posts on this and the kitz forums plus my personal experience, my take on G.Inp (retransmission) is:

DS G.Inp is applied to all VDSL2 lines (eventually) by default provided the DSLAM (fibre cabinet) is Huawei and a G.Inp compatable modem is in service.
Your Huawei HG612 should be G.Inp enabled for both DS and US service.
Very, very few people currently have DS G.Inp enabled on ECI DSLAM's as there is a long standing and still ongoing issue with software compatability, testing of revised software was postponed by BT just before Xmas, see kitz forum.

US G.Inp is not applied by default but can be applied by BTw DLM should it be deemed necessary due to line quality issues, excessive errors etc, again only on Huawei DSLAM's attached to compatable modems, some modems are only G.Inp compatable in DS direction, I believe the PN Hub 1 (re-badged BT HH5a) falls into this catagory.

In my case, I waited close to 8 weeks for DS G.Inp to be applied by DLM after migration from ADSL to fibre, US G.Inp has never been applied to date, don't think it ever will as my US error rate is very low, not required.

Again, from forums, very few people report active US G.Inp on their lines.

dannyboy75
Rising Star
Posts: 109
Thanks: 20
Registered: ‎06-08-2015

Re: G.INP on upstream?

Thank you both for those explanations - all makes sense now Smiley

tiffy
Rising Star
Posts: 126
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎01-05-2009

Re: G.INP on upstream?

@dannyboy75

Ironically enough, this post has just appeared on the kitz forum relating to US G.Inp, may find it interesting.

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,20829.msg362251.html#msg362251