cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G.INP & Throughput

Starmans
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 03-03-2015

G.INP & Throughput

Morning, I had G.INP enabled on my line over the weekend while I was away and have noticed my sync speed has increased from 54574/17208 to 66719/18837 but I have not noticed any increase in throughput and my IP profile does not seem to have increased. I've reset the PPP session but not the modem itself yet.
All the usual test conducted via wired connection via BTW Speed Tester, and also Namesco to confirm.
Namesco: Download Speed: 49745 kbps (6218.1 KB/sec )   Upload Speed: 15573 kbps (1946.6 KB/sec )
10 REPLIES
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,225
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: G.INP & Thoughtput

Hi it could be that the Plusnet profile not automatically updating to match the BT IP one you can check here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
if nothing has changed one of the CRT should be able to do it for you, once done you will need to drop the session in the router again.   
Starmans
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 03-03-2015

Re: G.INP & Thoughtput

Yeah that seems to be the case - as I've reset the modem now and its synced slightly higher still and yet throughput remains the same.
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,225
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: G.INP & Throughput

Dont reset the modem that wont change it and it could make things worse if DLM sticks it's nose in which is a risk you take when doing that,  as i say wait for one of the CRT to change it at their end.
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 387
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: G.INP & Throughput

@Starmans  I'm in a similar position, with G.INP apparently enabled on Saturday, interleaving was instantly switched off, throughput improved, but the Speedtest Speed at has remained doggedly the same for about 3 weeks, now with solid download bar graphs, showing it smooth or consistent (I assume). Looking at my router log there has been no disconnection for 24 hours and CRC errors are 3 only, Down, none up, which is miraculous in my experience.
However, looking at the Max connected Speed shows Down has increased somewhat ( roughly 25%), Up considerably (roughly 90% oddly) but there has been no increase in the speed that I am receiving or transmitting at the router. It's as if speeds have been fixed, like they are on rails, and nothing will budge them.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,440
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: G.INP & Throughput

Have you checked the Current Line Speed on the Plusnet site
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 387
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: G.INP & Throughput

@Oldjim  Thanks for your reply. Not sure if you were asking me, but my speeds at PlusNet show a maximum of 39Mbps currently connected at 32Mbps. My Router Log shows me connected at 35Mbps with a Max down rate of 62Mbps.
At the PC I'm showing 30Mbps like its cast iron. Using internal wiring through adaptors and Cable connection. If I go direct to the router I get about 1.5Mbps increase.
Starmans
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 03-03-2015

Re: G.INP & Throughput

PN have reset line speed and after reset of PPP session I'm now getting the correct speed.
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,225
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: G.INP & Throughput

good to hear  Smiley
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: G.INP & Throughput

Quote from: Starmans
PN have reset line speed and after reset of PPP session I'm now getting the correct speed.

Was this Plusnet action automatic or because you raised it?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Starmans
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: 03-03-2015

Re: G.INP & Throughput

I someone on chat and it was handled there.