cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G.INP / Vectoring enabled ?

gisajob
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 08-04-2016

G.INP / Vectoring enabled ?

Hello,

 

Is there anyway of knowing if the cabinet I'm connected to supports G.INP or vectoring ?

WOLVEY / Cabinet 8 .. I'm pretty sure it's a Huawei

 

I connected my Draytek 2860 without vectoring firmware and am connected at 48mpbs (BT claim to guarantee I should be getting 68mbps).

 

When I change the 2860s firmware to vectoring, I'm connected at 60mbps, I can access the internet, but then connection drops every 30 seconds or so.

 

Ideas?

Regards
David

4 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,096
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: G.INP / Vectoring enabled ?

Vectoring - difficult to say but unlikely. G.inp, probably, given the fact you're on a Huawei cab.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

gisajob
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 08-04-2016

Re: G.INP / Vectoring enabled ?

Thanks for your reply Bob.

 

I've hooked up a Netgear D7000 to extract the stats you see below.  

Questions:

1) Does "G.INP: Not enabled" mean it's not enabled on the cabinet, or not enabled on the connection that's been established ?

 

2) The DSLAM Type says its BDCM (Broadcom ? so I assume its a Huawai).  The cabinet was only installed a month or so ago.

3) Is the line attenuation considered high, and would it explain why we're not getting 60-80Mpbs ?

Thanks for any help you may provide.

 

Stats recorded 09 Apr 2016 15:41:12

DSLAM/MSAN type: BDCM:0xa48c / v0xa48c
Modem/router firmware: AnnexA version - A2pvbH042g2.d26b
DSL mode: VDSL2 Profile 17a
Status: Showtime
Uptime: 1 hour 34 min 33 sec
Resyncs: 0 (since 09 Apr 2016 15:29:41)

Downstream Upstream
Line attenuation (dB): 22.4 0.0
Signal attenuation (dB): Not monitored
Connection speed (kbps): 52194 10309
SNR margin (dB): 6.0 5.9
Power (dBm): 12.9 7.1
Interleave depth: 1 217
INP: 0 4.00
G.INP: Not enabled Not enabled

RSCorr/RS (%): N/A 0.1417
RSUnCorr/RS (%): N/A 0.0000
ES/hour: 2125 0

 

dslctl info --stats
xdslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 12377 Kbps, Downstream rate = 52015 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 10309 Kbps, Downstream rate = 52194 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 5.9 5.9
Attn(dB): 22.4 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 12.9 7.1

VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 30
B: 239 47
M: 1 1
T: 64 64
R: 0 16
S: 0.1463 0.1480
L: 13120 3460
D: 1 217
I: 240 64
N: 240 64

Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 2515517 624489
OHFErr: 11953 0
RS: 0 924189
RSCorr: 0 4243
RSUnCorr: 0 0

Bearer 0
HEC: 2221 0
OCD: 9 0
LCD: 9 0
Total Cells: 593504865 0
Data Cells: 24978791 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0

ES: 3576 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 29 29
AS: 5913

Bearer 0
INP: 0.00 4.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 8
PER: 2.35 9.50
OR: 81.68 30.29
AgR: 52275.79 10339.61

Bitswap: 969/970 6/6

Total time = 1 hours 39 min 2 sec
FEC: 0 4243
CRC: 11953 0
ES: 3576 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 29 29
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Retr: 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 2 sec
FEC: 0 22
CRC: 1209 0
ES: 358 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Retr: 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 0 1329
CRC: 2018 0
ES: 605 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Retr: N/A
Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 39 min 2 sec
FEC: 0 4243
CRC: 11953 0
ES: 3576 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 29 29
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Retr: 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Retr: 0
Since Link time = 1 hours 38 min 33 sec
FEC: 0 4243
CRC: 11953 0
ES: 3576 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Retr: 0
NTR: mipsCntAtNtr=0 ncoCntAtNtr=0
#

Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,242
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: G.INP / Vectoring enabled ?

Hi.

1. G.INP is always enabled at the cab but can be switched off on the line which has happened in your case as indicated in the stats As you changed the modem G.INP has been turned off by DLM most likely until it figures out what type of modem your now using and what it needs to do , if you keep the Netgear on the line in a couple of days or so DLM Should enable G.INP. 

2. Yes Broadcom is Huawai

3. I'm not very versed on stats for fibre connections so I'm not sure if the attenuation is too high or not, I do know that your SNR is as it should be around the 6db mark so there is no speed loss due to that

 

 

 

Andrue
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 89
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: G.INP / Vectoring enabled ?

I don't know if all lines get G.INP or if it's only activated as part of DLM remediation. If it's the latter it might be better to hope that you don't get it. G.INP is a great way to fix a problem but I'd rather not have the problem in the first place Smiley