cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

jwalsh2005
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 20-08-2014

Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Hi All,
Any one having issues with packet loss at the moment? Spoke to somebody on the online chat who said the are no issues but I am getting around 10 % when gaming.

Computing statistics for 175 seconds...
Source to Here This Node/Link
Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
0 Jon-PC [192.168.1.104]
0/ 100 = 0% |
1 0ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% 192.168.1.1
0/ 100 = 0% |
2 11ms 5/ 100 = 5% 5/ 100 = 5% lo0-central10.ptn-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.193]
0/ 100 = 0% |
3 8ms 4/ 100 = 4% 4/ 100 = 4% link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.140]
0/ 100 = 0% |
4 8ms 6/ 100 = 6% 6/ 100 = 6% 212.159.0.124
0/ 100 = 0% |
5 9ms 5/ 100 = 5% 5/ 100 = 5% ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.1]
0/ 100 = 0% |
6 10ms 6/ 100 = 6% 6/ 100 = 6% ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.7]
0/ 100 = 0% |
7 6ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% plusnet-lcy4.plus.net [212.56.71.109]
Trace complete.
Have the BT modem connected to a tplink router have had no issues before.
Thanks
7 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,004
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Try a disconnect/reconnect. I think we've had a few issues with PTN-AG04 recently.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

jwalsh2005
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 20-08-2014

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Hi Bob,
Seems to have done the trick, thanks for the reply.  Smiley
Juliaridge
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 31-01-2016

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Hi. Got similar issue, signed up for unlimited 40 meg package, been sent new hub 1 router,all connected correctly.  3 days later still only getting 3.6 meg, which is about the as original broadband non fibre package.  Have paid an extra £5 per month plus cost of the new router poor a poorer service.  It seems that I am not alone in this recent reduction of plusnet service.  I have logged a fault report, router has been reset by plusnet, still no difference. What is one to do?
ChrisWoods
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

On the speed estimator page, what does it say your estimate and impacted speeds should be? https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ - type in your phone number to see the results.
3.6 megabit/sec is pretty dismal if you're on FTTC, there must be something wrong with a line profile somewhere...
If you have slow speeds, run a BT Wholesale speed test and view the results (which saves them on the BT backend system) before calling plusnet, they can then view the speed results. Be sure to use a wired connection to test. http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,004
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Quote from: Juliaridge
Hi. Got similar issue, signed up for unlimited 40 meg package, been sent new hub 1 router,all connected correctly.  3 days later still only getting 3.6 meg, which is about the as original broadband non fibre package.

Unrelated problem. Yours is because your fibre upgrade has not completed meaning you're still on ADSL2+. Latest notes from BT Wholesale's systems:
Your order is still on the waiters list. Review On 19-Feb-2016
Your order has been placed in the waiters list. Review On 04-Feb-2016

This suggests there's no capacity at your cabinet.
I'll put some notes on your fault ticket, but I doubt there's much we can do until the order comes off the waiting list Sad

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Juliaridge
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Registered: 31-01-2016

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Sorry to correct you Bob if I was on ASDL 2 I would be  getting 10mbps already have sent over 3 hours on line chat with plusnet  about this as I discovered my exchange/area are connected to a ASDL2 service and could receive  but we were not getting it to/from router and I was asking what was needed to get this ASDL2 service only to be informed I could not get it mind you they also stated I could get anything better than 2.99 mbps regardless of any upgrades/fibre etc..... 
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,004
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fttc 80 Mb Packetloss

Quote from: Juliaridge
Sorry to correct you Bob if I was on ASDL 2 I would be  getting 10mbps...

I ran a line test on your circuit before posting my last reply. It showed your line in sync at just over 4Mbps on ADSL2+ with a throughput profile a few hundred kbps lower. This is in keeping with what you're observing, and it also fits perfectly between the 2-6Mbps your line is estimated to run at on ADSL2+.
If you log into the Hub One and navigate to Troubleshooting > Helpdesk, you'll also see this being reported.
In summary, both BT Wholesale's ordering systems and fault diagnostic tools report you are connected over an ADSL connection and not a fibre/VDSL connection.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵