cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frustrated with plusnet

4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Frustrated with plusnet

ventmode /on Since I upgraded to fibre a long time ago I have enjoyed a 78Mps connection. But these last few months have been a joke, money flies out of my account to PN but internet trickles into my home. Have a ticket raised 133448685 2 weeks later they tell me it's all fine and "within acceptable limits" TOSH!!!! Tonight I'm getting kicked from gaming servers, cannot stream a thing, getting various results from different speed checkers, non above 4Mps. BT Wholesale states 44Mps utter rubbish, lies? (where has my 78Mps gone?) Some nights though I get 65+Mps for short periods. But my upload speed stays round 18 - 20Mps constantly whatever my DL speed is. Been with plusnet since feb 2015 after the fantastic ADSL24 sold out to Coms.com with similar results, failing speeds, bad customer support. I'd rather be whittling spoons than watching 3 secs of a stream then 10 sec buffer. Getting so frustrated now my work is also suffering as i have to log onto a gateway to get stats for my next days work, this was slow before due to the system at the base but now is nearly unusable. Screenshot taken 23:37 this evening.

14 REPLIES
4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

sorry here is screenshot.

speedchecker.jpg

John222
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 21-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

Hi, It maybe that you have been transferred to the new network. Can you perform an traceroute to 8.8.8.8 and post the results.
4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

tracert 8.8.8.8 Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8] over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1

2 * * * Request timed out.

3 * * * Request timed out.

4 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 172.17.4.141

5 14 ms 14 ms 13 ms 172.17.10.198

6 14 ms 13 ms 14 ms be2.psb-ir02.plus.net [195.166.129.182]

7 14 ms 13 ms 14 ms 195.99.125.138

8 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms peer1-xe-11-0-1.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [213.121.193.201]

9 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms 109.159.253.67

10 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms 72.14.234.65

11 15 ms 15 ms 19 ms 216.239.57.75

12 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

Trace complete.

now BT wholesale test states slow connection also

bt-test2.jpg

John222
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: 21-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

You can see from the hops your traceroute takes, you have been migrated on the new network based on the 'IR' tags. There are a number of problems with the new network, no one knows when these problems are going to be fixed. 

 

Have you contact the support help desk?

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

@4onthefloor

Welcome to the forums.

This thread is probably the one you should read  https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/High-packet-loss-and-other-DNS-issues/m-p/1354749#U135...  and reference on on any fault ticket.

 

If you feel that it is not the issue in question for you, then the links below point to the various problem guides..

First thing is to check for a phone fault (if Plusnet provide the phone start here https://www.plus.net/help/phone/phone-line-troubleshooting/ ) If you do have a phone voice fault, report it as such and do not mention any broadband issues. And then when that is fixed, see if the broadband is better.

Then if still not solved (or no phone fault is in evidence) start with the FTTC guides at https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Fibre-Fault-Guides/m-p/1156188#U1156188

 

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

@John222

The way to check for the new network for any none static IP users is to go to http://users.plus.net/@gateway/

It will say "You are currently connected to gateway" and then in the name that follows you look for the 4 characters "-ir0". If there, then you are on the new network.

If you have a static IP there is no way to know period. Only Plusnet can tell you for certain.

The traceroute which shows a node starting "irb" does not mean the new network.

4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

Yes -ir0, despite gale force winds outside I am currently getting 60Mps but this will no doubt drop later as it usually does to 3 - 4 Mps. Phone line is crystal clear despite the winds. If there was an issue with the line wouldn't my upload speed slow down as well? 

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

@4onthefloor

Slowing down in peak periods is a symptom of congestion, this may be due to the issues raised in the "High Packet Loss and other DNS" or good old fashion congestion issues at your local exchange. Plusnet would need to clarify if it is the exchange based congestion as that is monitored and balanced.

Line issues may affect upstream speeds too and you would normally expect to see some decrease something there too.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,553
Thanks: 1,278
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

PN will not admit to congestion

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

Peak periods/off peak is not the issue, as I work shifts I get home just after midday and 8pm alternate weeks. And have had terrible speeds at these times also. It is totally random.  Still getting 60Mps right now but I used to get 78 steady when I went to fibre and for 12 months or so after.

Gregg
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-07-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

I have exactly the same experience. They sent an open reach engineer to my house after much complaining and I was getting 76mbit for a good few weeks. Now all of a sudden i am getting less than 3mbit and it keeps disconnecting. Once the connection is working surely then it should continue working at the same rate from that point on. This points towards serious networking issues within the plusnet network itself. It can't be a line problem because open reach was here only a few weeks ago and confirmed everything is fine.

At the moment I am using 4g connection because it has been completely off for the past 1 hour. No point calling them up because it is a 1 hour wait and a 5 day SLA. HAHA never heard of a 5 day SLA before. Not much I can do but use 4g at least I can depend on that working consistently, shame it is so slow and costs a lot.

mikewalsh
Rising Star
Posts: 64
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-04-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

On the thread referred earlier some success was obtained by users transferring to a static ip - it will cost you a fiver and don't hold your breath - probably be worth reading the thread first 😉

4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

Well something has changed (I have not been notified of any changes to my profile). I have been getting 58-60Mps since my last post. But it is not the 78Mps I was getting before my issues started. Max acheivable speed on the BT wholesale tests states 62Mps. I have lost a quarter of my fibre speed. Not happy. Sent results to PN they suggest an engineer may have to call around. But the connection has been stable not the massive fluctuations I was experiencing so I don't think the line is at fault.

bt test3.jpg

 

4onthefloor
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 23-09-2016

Re: Frustrated with plusnet

spoke too soon, all new low I'm getting ****** off with this now.

 

bt test4.jpg