cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finding my IP remotely

chriscooney
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎24-11-2016

Finding my IP remotely

Hi, as the message says - is there anyway to find my IP remotely as it isn't listed in the control panel under settings? I need to RDP to my machine at home but since the last time I did this it seems my IP address has changed. 

6 REPLIES
Champnet
Pro
Posts: 493
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Finding my IP remotely

Type IP into Google search

chriscooney
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎24-11-2016

Re: Finding my IP remotely

Thanks for responding but I am not at the computer or in the same location as the connection hence the need to RDP in to it, I was hoping to get my routers current IP from the control panel on plus.net but it doesn't list it. 

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 493
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Finding my IP remotely

Nobody at the other end ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,810
Thanks: 447
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Finding my IP remotely

If you're using RDP I would suggest asking PlusNet for a fixed IP.
There is a fixed charge of £5 I believe.

chriscooney
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎24-11-2016

Re: Finding my IP remotely

Thanks guys - no one at home sadly. Wasn't aware I could get a fixed IP, i'll look into it thanks for the heads up.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,299
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Finding my IP remotely

A static IP address is a one-off £5, it's worth that alone for setting up a ThinkBroadband Quality Monitor.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy