cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre upload speed slow?

amuk
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Fibre upload speed slow?

Hi. I'm puzzled as to why my upload speed is so slow. I'm doing a backup and find that I'm only getting 1Mb/s upload. Where am I being constrained?
I'm only 20m or so from the FTTC cabinet. I'm on Plusnet "Unlimited" which actually appears to be limited.
Some stats out of the Draytek 2850:
[tt]
Basic Status Upstream Downstream Unit
Actual Data Rate 19998 79984 Kb/s
SNR 201 85 0.1dB
Attainable Rate 33791 111797 Kbps
Electrical Length 29 29 0.1 dB
SNR Margin 201 201 (US0,--) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin 202 85 (US1,DS1) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin 201 85 (US2,DS2) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin N/A 84 (US3,DS3) 0.1 dB
SNR Margin N/A N/A (US4,DS4) 0.1 dB[/tt]
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

What do the speed tests show as your upload speed?
amuk
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?


I think the actual VDSL connection is fine, my issue appears to be traffic priority within the plusnet network. Do plusnet downgrade the priority for large transfers?

ArthurDent
Grafter
Posts: 170
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-02-2013

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

Also see the other very recent threads about generally ssslllooowww performance recently, e.g. the one mentioning website load stalling. My own BT,TBB and ookla stats are fine, but watching the doughnut go round gets tedious after a while.
Could this also be capacity related?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

Plusnet don't prioritise the upstream at all
amuk
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

Interesting. If I paid the extra £5 for the Pro addon, would my upload go any faster? I seem to recall a Pro comparison chart somewhere, but can't find it again.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

nope it wouldn't
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,957
Thanks: 578
Fixes: 217
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

As Oldjim has mentioned there's no prioritisation of upload traffic.
Testing isn't showing any issues or errors on the upstream
Just to cover the obvious things have these tests been ran over ethernet and with no programs running in the background that may be using your upload?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Fibre upload speed slow?

I wonder if the OP is using power line adapters.