Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre speeds & IP Profile

fusileer2002
Grafter

Fibre speeds & IP Profile

Hi guys.
I've been on Plusnets FTTC service since last year, and for most of that the speeds and ping have been good. Since about December however both have been dropping off a bit. Particularly the ping and I've been suffering a little bit of packet loss while playing online games and occasionally when web browsing. I ran a quick test tonight from the BT wholesale speedtester and have attached the result. The test says my acceptable speed should be 60-80Mb, but I have never got that even when it was working at its best. I think the best I ever got was around 48Mb, which was good enough, but thought I'd mention it. The test also says my IP profile is 77.44 - how close to that should I actually be getting with a fibre service? I'm on unlimited by the way.
I have plenty of experience with these sort of results on ADSL, but this is the first time I've really looked into them since moving to fibre so not sure what exactly to expect. The packet loss is starting to become too much of a problem to ignore and the higher pings whilst gaming - mainly playing World of Tanks - are starting to be a nuisance. Currently using a home networking kit over the powerlines, but get the same results when using either Wi-Fi or direct Ethernet cable. Obviously I've done the usual switching off of routers and boxes etc.
Any ideas or thoughts?
72 REPLIES 72
AndyH
Grafter

Re: Fibre speeds & IP Profile

What are your speeds like on this test http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html ?
fusileer2002
Grafter

If this code works...

the upload looked a little spiky. Generally upload speeds have always been very good and around the 18-19Mb mark until lately.
AndyH
Grafter

Can you try disconnecting/reconnecting (from the router admin page) to see if that makes any difference?
fusileer2002
Grafter