cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

ryanplus
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎15-07-2014

Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

Hi

Been upgraded from ADSL to fibre - ADSL was 10/1 so ok.  Fibre is 40/10

So fibre upgrade applied, router restarted.  Sync speed 40/10 and internet speed pretty much 40/10.

All good.

I then paid for a fixed IP address at plus net and had to reboot router.

Did this.

Sync speed still 40/10 - but internet now 10/10 ! 

 

PlusNet website:

Estimated line speed:40Mb (This may vary between 39Mb and 55Mb) - Checked on 2017-12-06 13:51:30Current line speed:9.9 Mb

 

Speed test site(s) all match that.

 

Whats going on?  I'd accept the argument "it takes time" but it was 40/10 until I bought the fixed IP and restarted router?

 

 

 

 

 

10 REPLIES
ryanplus
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎15-07-2014

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

After 40 mins on phone, the guy at PN removed the cap and hey presto....

PN now says

Estimated line speed:40Mb (This may vary between 39Mb and 55Mb) - Checked on 2017-12-06 13:51:30Current line speed:37 Mb

 

So not sure why it says 37 rather than 40 which is what the router says, but good enough!

Downstream: 40 Mbps
Upstream: 9.999 Mbps

 

 

Strange the "cap" went on when buying fixed IP!

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,969
Thanks: 999
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

Strange the "cap" went on when buying fixed IP!

I suspect that the 'Current Line speed' had never updated from the ADSL one. On most connections with dynamic IP's it's ignored, when you changed to a static it was now being used.

benfphillips
Grafter
Posts: 53
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎05-03-2017

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

@MisterW

Hmm, this morning my live migration to a cab that's much, much closer was done and the only thing to benefit thus far is my upload speed from 2-15mbit. I can see the router is now syncing at 80/20 but the download speed remains the same. Your comment about the static ip is interesting as Gandalf also made a comment previously about a static IP working differently to dynamic with plus.net.

 

The plus.net profile gives strange results:

Phone exchange: PENRYN

Estimated line speed:7Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2017-11-17 11:01:50

Current line speed:78 Mb

Actual speed seems to be between 10-16mbit at the moment..

 

I'm wondering if removing my static IP might help here. @Gandalf ?

ryanplus
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎15-07-2014

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

Phone them up Smiley

they did fix mine over the phone when I eventually got through.

 

ryanplus
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎15-07-2014

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

PS - what does https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=stable_rate say for you?

the current line speed matched what I was getting, and when I was chatting over the phone I saw the numbers change and hey presto so did my link (did reboot router after)

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,969
Thanks: 999
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

It should say 78Mb because that's where

Current line speed:78 Mb

comes from...

 

ryanplus
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎15-07-2014

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

edit:  lol - should've read your reply closer.

Ignore me.

 

Good luck Smiley

 

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,104
Thanks: 3,195
Fixes: 508
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

Hi there @ryanplus

Due to the way that connections with static IP's route through our network, the "current line speed" or profile on your account restricts throughput if set too low. More info can be found over here.

 

@benfphillips

Cheers for your PM's. It looked like your profile was updated earlier in the day and from the screenshot you've sent me, you're getting pretty nice speeds now? I'm glad that the migration to the closer cab looks to be finally over. Smiley

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
benfphillips
Grafter
Posts: 53
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎05-03-2017

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

Indeed, it's nice to be back in the 21st century Cheesy Thanks for all the help again!

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,104
Thanks: 3,195
Fixes: 508
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre speed "capped" on download to old ADSL speed

No problems Ben. I'm glad I saw this through to a resolution.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team