cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre speed is very slow

ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Fibre speed is very slow

So a few days  ago I decided to check my speed as I've noticed my connection has been super slow lately and its shown me this:

 

 3a698d5a0a918638fc41261c356e686b.png

 

I've tried it on a few different days and its always about the same also tried with a different modem and no change. Really disappointing as I pay for 70 down 20 up. Any suggestions?

12 REPLIES 12
RichardB
All Star
Posts: 762
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Hi @ToTheMoon 

 

Are you testing on a device connected by WiFi or a computer connected by an Ethernet cable?

If using WiFi please test with a computer connected by an Ethernet cable.

 

Can you also check the Openreach estimates for their line to your house at:

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

Please post the results on this thread after removing your phone number.

 

Can you please check the connection speed of the router?

If you are using a Plusnet Hub one router, the connection data can be found at: http://192.168.1.254, then click troubleshooting and then help desk.

Please post the results on this thread, after removing any WiFi related information. 

Regards

Richard

ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Hi, thanks for the reply. I've always used a computer + eth cable for the near 4 years I've had plusnet fibre.. last time I speed checked I had 70 down 20 up. Heres what I've got: 326359ea1acfbe22d0788584dd18b23d.pngf4ca3953aa9ff5184a0c8fca8fc7fa04.png

RichardB
All Star
Posts: 762
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Hi @ToTheMoon 

Yuck!

Something is badly wrong with the router speed figures, they are significantly below the speed estimates for the line to your house.

I suggest you log a fault with Plusnet.

https://faults.plus.net

Depending on the results of the initial test steps a fault will be raised with Plusnet.

 

Regards

Richard

ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Do you think it might be the router itself? The other router I tried was never working great either 

RichardB
All Star
Posts: 762
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

It might be the router or a line fault.
The router is repoting a line attenuation (41dB) that if correct will never support the BT speed estimates (70 mbps).
Do you have a landline phone? If so is there a dial tone? Is the line noisy?
In what way did the other router never work great?
What is the make and model of the other router?
ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Dont have a landline phone I can test with and the other router I tried was old and generally never worked great.. however im thinking this a problem that might not be on my end. I renewed my contract 2 months ago and since then I have noticed that my speed is slow which could be a coincidence but I dont know.

 

Might buy a new router to test it as I needed a new one anyway 

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,382
Thanks: 616
Fixes: 30
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

@ToTheMoon  If you want to spend money on a new router that will not fix the problem go ahead. The high attenuation that @RichardB mentioned is almost certainly due to a line fault and nothing to do with your new contract.. You need to raise a fault with Plusnet.

ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Well thanks for the concise answer. I raised a fault last night, going to borrow a landline phone to test the line today.

ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Well I've checked my connection with a landline phone and something isnt right it sounds all static and weird a bit like the old school dial up tone.. guess its time to call BT

RichardB
All Star
Posts: 762
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

Hi @ToTheMoon 

 

Openreach systems can only cope with one fault open at once.

Raise the phone fault ASAP with BT before Plusnet try and raise a broadband fault with Openreach.

 

The phone line must be clear before broadband will work properly.

Regards

Richard

 

ToTheMoon
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎30-01-2018

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

I've just tried to raise the fault with BT and after they asked for my landline number they said im with plusnet so redirected me to plusnets number.. 

RichardB
All Star
Posts: 762
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Fibre speed is very slow

OK

Most Plusnet customers do have line rental with Plusnet.

Based on your suggestion that you had to contact BT, I assumed you had line rental with BT and not Plusnet.

As a fault has been raised with Plusnet , then let Plusnet pass the fault to Openreach.

You will need to accept a visit from Openreach to trace the line fault.

The Openreach technician will no doubt  check the noise on the line.