cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre speed has dropped

Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Fibre speed has dropped

My fibre speeds have dropped over the last week or so from 65-70mbps to 20-22mbps.  I have done all the checks:  rebooted the modem and router, plugged an ethernet cable into the master socket etc with no difference. The speed is the same whether I use the mac desktop or my husband's ipad, iphone.
We have tried different gateways but no difference in speed.  I am in Wrexham, North Wales but nothing is showing up for Wrexham under service status.
I pay for Fibre unlimited extra but am getting nowhere near the speeds I was a couple of weeks ago.
Any ideas?
Thanks
Kaz
14 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 622
Fixes: 56
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Hi Kaz28, welcome to the forum.
Apart from doing the checks suggests by George just to rule out anything at your end, depending on your location see http://usertools.plus.net/status/archive/1451408644.htm (North Wales is affected) also this post and as the rest of the thread shows, many people in various parts of the country have been affected by the severe weather.
If your speed is low 24/7 rather than just at some peak times, then you may have a more localised problem which could still be related to the severe weather.
Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Thanks, both.  I have reported a fault and will see what plusnet say. It's just weird my speed is stuck on the exact same speed whenever I do the speed test. I tried it at 7am this morning and before I went to bed last night, exact speed! It could be the weather, although we never got flooded in Wrexham like some areas did. But we have had plenty of rain, its raining now!
I did wonder if it could be Christmas congestion so will see what the speeds are tomorrow when everyone is back at work and school.
Thanks again
Kaz
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,436
Thanks: 622
Fixes: 56
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Congestion would normally be time based, so speeds differ wildly with the time of the day. I've had that issue as have most people and it is normally fixed quickly behind the scenes by BTW. But it may be down to failures in the BTW network as the path from your house to Plusnet's gateways is not easy to guess (eg Northern Ireland goes via Glasgow which had major issues last week).
Who knows? Hopefully Plusnet will get to the answer quickly for you.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

If you can run the BTw Performance test (DON'T REBOOT, ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test, that will give you your IP Profile which is directly related to your sync speed - just to check you don't have any issue with that. If you want you can do a Copy and Paste of the results and post (no need to grab an image).
Might also be worth checking your Current Line speed (Login required) which should match the IP Profile (rounded down).
Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

I ran the BT test and the first test said my download speed was
22.896 mbps,
upload 6.57 mbps,
ping 30.38
Using the BT username it said
Download Speed
52.89 Mbps

0 Mbps 77.43 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speed achieved during the test was - 52.89 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 40 Mbps-77.43 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 77.43 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.
Upload Speed
2.95 Mbps

0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 2.95Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
Your service was found to be performing poorly.
Please raise a fault with your service provider, stating that the BT Performance Tester tool indicates poor service throughput performance after the third test.
Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Okay, so just got off the phone with Plusnet and apparently my connection is being moved over to a new network of theirs. They said my line is showing considerable slow-down but he wasn't sure if it was because of a line fault or the move to this new network! He said they were moving people over randomly in batches!
Anyone heard of this?
Kaz
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Plusnet are (well certainly appear to be) making major changes to their network, to both update it and to increase capacity. However, whether the slowdown in throughput you are seeing is due to a capacity issue on their network of BT's backhaul or some other reason, is not clear.
I suggest the person you spoke to is not adequately qualified to make judgements about where the problem lies as there is obviously nothing wrong with your line (the wires). The BT speedtest results show the IP Profile of your line and that means you are clearly connected  to your Cab at virtually maximum speed, so the slow down is something else.
Because of significant flood damage to parts of BT's network, it is possible that capacity has been deliberately restricted by BT in certain areas to ensure that the majority of users in those areas at least get some usable bandwidth from their connection. But that doesn't mean that other checks can't be made to eliminate other possibilities.
If you are getting those speedtest results 24/7 via an ethernet connection (not wireless) and have ensured that no other users/programs are using the connection when the test is run, then considering that you have rebooted the modem (that should be an absolute last resort btw - not something you should do if it can be avoided), the other check is to ensure it's not the router gone faulty and causing the issue.
Is it the 2704n router that you have got? Have Plusnet suggested using what's called a PPPoE Dialler connection where you connect your computer direct to the Modem by Ethernet and the repeat the speedtests?  Setups for other OSes will be similar (eg. there's a library article for XP) but you may have to google for others.
Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Hi
I have Netgear wndr3700 router. I totally bypassed it and connected my computer by ethernet cable using a PPPoeE Dialler connection to the open reach modem and got the exact same low speeds. I used the master socket without the face plate on and got exact same speeds too.
The guy on the phone said the transfer to the new network will be completed by midnight on Wednesday. He put me to the back of the queue for faults so nobody would look at it until the transfer was completed.
It maybe a coincidence but someone else posted here and on thinkbroadband whose speed was also stuck at 22mbps and he is also waiting to be moved on to this "new network".
Its a bit frustrating especially as i've never had any issues with Plusnet before and only use it really for streaming through apple tv and the odd download or upload.
Kaz
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Well this is a bit of a mystery to me, we need one of the Plusnet CRT guys to comment.
Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

i'm assuming my move to the new network is complete as this morning my speed is 75mbps!  Smiley  Hopefully it was just the network move that causes the poor speed and its now fixed.
Kaz
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Hi Kaz,
How's your connection doing today?
Can you do something for interest - open a command window and run the following     tracert ntp.plus.net
and then copy and paste the output to a post here, thanks.
Kaz28
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 02-01-2016

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Hi, Anotherone,
My connection is great today, still getting 75mbps on speed tests and it seems back to normal.
Here is the info: Looking for anything in particular?
Traceroute has started…
traceroute: Warning: ntp.plus.net has multiple addresses; using 212.159.6.9
traceroute to ntp.plus.net (212.159.6.9), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  1.223 ms  1.125 ms  1.065 ms
2  * * *
3  * * *
4  172.17.7.237 (172.17.7.237)  7.526 ms  6.750 ms  7.098 ms
5  172.17.11.230 (172.17.11.230)  11.221 ms  11.201 ms  11.016 ms
6  be2.psb-ir01.plus.net (195.166.129.180)  11.365 ms  11.253 ms  11.027 ms
7  gr-11-1-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.189)  11.203 ms  10.980 ms  11.018 ms
8  po2.ptw-gw02.plus.net (195.166.129.39)  11.716 ms  13.656 ms  11.049 ms
9  * * *
10  cdns01.plus.net (212.159.6.9)  11.331 ms  11.132 ms  10.835 ms
Kaz
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fibre speed has dropped

Hi Kaz, thanks for that. Several people will no doubt be interested as the routing is different, and this new network has been kept fairly quiet and it's only posts similar to your reply #7 where it's been picked up that this is happening. See this for example (it's not LLU btw).
A more typical traceroute on the existing network might look like the following -
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    35 ms    32 ms    31 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag05.plus.net [195.166.128.186]
  3    31 ms    30 ms    31 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.176]
  4    30 ms    30 ms    29 ms  xe-1-2-0.pcl-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.208]
  5    35 ms    31 ms    31 ms  po2.pcl-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.41]
  6    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  cdns01.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
or
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    32 ms    32 ms    45 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.194]
  3    33 ms    31 ms    32 ms  link-a-central10.ptw-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.156]
  4    32 ms    32 ms    31 ms  xe-7-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.252]
  5    32 ms    31 ms    32 ms  ae2.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.5]
  6    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  po2.ptw-gw02.plus.net [195.166.129.39]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  cdns01.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
Could you run the BTw Performance test (DON'T REBOOT, ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) again and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test and Do a Copy and Paste of the results and post here.