cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

Lucas712
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-01-2015

Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

So we upgraded to Fibre quite a few months back and for the last few months it's been slow and it's slow, very very slow, slower than just having the router on its own.  So I done a check (by using links of the Plusnet website) and it said that FTTP is not being directed to my house...what? Is there some kind of fault or something? Please let me know why this is.
9 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

Hi there,
From looking at your account it looks like you're on FTTC not FTTP, therefore the comment about FTTP from the checker can be ignored. FTTC is Fibre To The Cabinet, which is the fibre service we sell via our website. FTTP is Fibre To The Premises which is not something we advertise.
What speeds are you currently seeing as a line test is showing you connected at the speeds we'd expect (40Mb/s downstream).
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Lucas712
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-01-2015

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

Hi Chris,
Thanks for the quick reply. These are the results:
(With only my laptop connected by a Ethernet cable)
Download speed: 38.52
Upload Speed: 13.47
Ping Latency: 42.38
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

That's pretty much spot on with what I'd expect on the 40Mb/s service. What issues are you seeing?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Lucas712
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 02-01-2015

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

While watching videos, buffering occurs while on 720, when I'm on my Xbox, it randomly disconnects and while on YouTube on my Xbox the quality goes as low as 240 for no reason, even when I have full wireless signal on my Xbox (best result  is when it's wired, which is not really something I can do as the router is on a different floor) and my parents have been telling me how the internet is slow on their Tablet/ Laptop.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,125
Thanks: 4
Registered: 14-08-2007

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

That sounds like a wifi problem - quite typical with the Technicolour router which is not the best for wifi - especially if it is not close to you.
It might be worth trying a different wifi channel - in case you are using the same channel as your neighbors. You need to log into the router web interface to change it.
You can also try Inssider - to scan wifi in your area to see the best channel.

http://www.techspot.com/downloads/5936-inssider.html
EDIT -  forget Inssider - I thought it was free, it isn't
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,945
Thanks: 1,749
Fixes: 133
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

This version is free http://www.majorgeeks.com/mg/getmirror/inssider,1.html

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-04-2013

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

WiFi Analyser for android is free.
Let's be careful out there !
RobPN
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,210
Thanks: 244
Fixes: 3
Registered: 17-05-2013

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

mspritch
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 07-11-2009

Re: Fibre slow and doing a check has shown FTTP is not being directed to my house

If you find that it's fine on a wired connection but poor on wireless, and changing the channel doesn't fix things, I'd highly recommend a BT HomeHub 5, you'll pick them up cheaply on eBay (mine was about £45) and they're ADSL & VDSL compatible, no need to use the Openreach box and you don't need BT broadband to use one. VERY good wifi too, especially when compared to the Technicolor (which isn't surprising as the TG582n only has two half-inch strips of circuit board track as antennae, I ended up plugging external antennae into the MS156 test sockets inside mine).