cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre ping

davenos
Rising Star
Posts: 189
Thanks: 33
Registered: 14-01-2015

Fibre ping

I moved to plusnet fibre from Sky's ADSL service last Wednesday(7/01/2015) and my ping is considerably higher than on Sky's ADSL service is this right(no issues with speed im seeing a constant 36mb download and 9mb upload).
I had a ping of 15ms for the past 12 months and so far on fibre it has not dropped below 38ms would the pro add on help lower it considerably or would it only be a small unnoticeable amount.
Regards
Dave
12 REPLIES
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Fibre ping

The Pro addon is pretty much irrelevant these days, and is unlikely to improve your ping.
Can you post the result of command line results for
ping bbc.co.uk
tracert bbc.co.uk

That will give more of an idea where the issue is.
I assume you are running with a wired connection?
davenos
Rising Star
Posts: 189
Thanks: 33
Registered: 14-01-2015

Re: Fibre ping

I'll post the results once i get home,i only use the cmd prompt function to test anyway as websites are generally unreliable when it comes to testing.
davenos
Rising Star
Posts: 189
Thanks: 33
Registered: 14-01-2015

Re: Fibre ping

Here is the pingtest result it seems to have dropped overnight but still higher than my previous ADSL connection and i am only using a wired connection.
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>ping www.bbc.co.uk
Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.246.93] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.246.93: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=54
Reply from 212.58.246.93: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=54
Reply from 212.58.246.93: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=54
Reply from 212.58.246.93: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=54
Ping statistics for 212.58.246.93:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 25ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 25ms
Here is the tracert resutl to bbc.co.uk
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Windows\system32>tracert www.bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.71]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    39 ms    25 ms    27 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.184
]
  3    25 ms    24 ms    24 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.16
8]
  4    26 ms    24 ms    25 ms  xe-10-2-0.pcl-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.200]
  5    28 ms    24 ms    24 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6    42 ms    38 ms    24 ms  kingston-gw.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.6]
  7    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  8    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  9    24 ms    24 ms    24 ms  ae0.er01.telhc.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.109]
10    25 ms    25 ms    25 ms  132.185.255.149
11    25 ms    24 ms    24 ms  bbc-vip116.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.71]
Trace complete.


sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Fibre ping

It looks as if your line might have had very high interleaving applied.  If you had an unlocked modem you could see more detail, or a PlusNet rep may be able to help.  With luck one will respond here pretty soon, otherwise I suggest you raise a ticket.
Where are you?  For me the first hop (line 2 of the tracert) shows a steady 10ms: that is from Winchester.  Even with normal interleaving I would expect around 18ms.

You could try powering off the modem (may mean unplugging), waiting 30 secs or so, and powering it back on.  Only do this once, repeated playing with the modem can be seen as line faults by DLM which will then lower your speed and increase your ping even more.
Do not disconnect the modem/phone connection while the modem is running; this is even more likely to be interpreted as a fault.
If you did quite a bit of playing with the modem when you got the connection, that could be the cause of your problems.  In that case, DLM will eventually reduce or eliminate your interleaving and give better pings:  but this often takes 2 to 3 weeks.
(If you are nor sure of terms such as DLM and interleaving just ask)

1    1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.254
2    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  lo0.10.central10.ptn-bng01.plus.net [195.166.128.228]
3    11 ms    17 ms    11 ms  irb.10.PTW-CR01.plus.net [84.93.249.1]
4    11 ms    11 ms    11 ms  kingston-gw.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.6]
5    *        *        *    Request timed out.
6    12 ms    12 ms    12 ms  ae0.er02.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.90]
7    *      12 ms    12 ms  132.185.255.165
8    11 ms    11 ms    11 ms  fmt-vip132.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk [212.58.246.103]
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Fibre ping

as stated, sounds a bit like interleaving.
But 25ms pings are still OK. I complained to PlusNET regarding pings before and the guy on phone was amazed when i told him i had pings of 8-10ms. I'm on Sky now, and on wireless i get 8ms and on plusNET i get 10ms
Give it some time to see if improves  Smiley
davenos
Rising Star
Posts: 189
Thanks: 33
Registered: 14-01-2015

Re: Fibre ping

I'm in Beeston, Nottingham and have noticed that my location on any website that I visit(that registers your location) has me located in the south east of the country or London.
I have left the router on since it was installed and I tend to never switch them off as I know that the DLM process may think its an issue and drop the speed to stabilise the line.
I have not checked the router to see if there have been any disconnects while im out at work but will do when I get in later today just in case there have been.
In all honesty its not that much of an issue it just seems to be effecting the experience on Battlefield 4(I know about their lag compensation server side malarkey)more than it did on Sky's ADSL service, but I'll give it some more time to see what happens.
Cheers for the help.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Fibre ping

I'm just going to test your line .. you may feel a little disconnect in a moment.
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Fibre ping

"0.128M-40M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off" is the option that you currently have. If it's still causing concern, feel free to raise it (faults.plus.net) but I'm not sure what more can be done.
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Fibre ping

Try using another lead from a pc or laptop direct to the modem to rule out any slighlty duff lead or port etc, only thing I can think that has not been mentioned. Don't pull stuff apart after dark though, and do make sure that you press disconnect first In your router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-01-2009

Re: Fibre ping

That profile setting of "interleaving, low" would normally allow the modems to set 8ms of additional delay; I've found, in practice, that it seems to add roughly 10ms to round-trip times.
I've attached an old BQM graph where DLM intervened for me, and added precisely that; you can see the overall impact that this had.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Fibre ping

I have an 850m line with interleaving on the lowest setting (speeds below), which gives me a ping of slightly higher than what davenos quoted. 17ms to the bbc for me, so I suspect that something isn't quite right as well.
davenos
Rising Star
Posts: 189
Thanks: 33
Registered: 14-01-2015

Re: Fibre ping

Im not overley fussed if nothing can be done to lower it as it has dropped slightly from my first post to when i posted the pingtest and tracert results.
I cannot say if it has dropped anymore as im away on business at the moment but will check when i get back in afew days.
Cheers for all the help and advice its greatfully received.