cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre packet loss

Sybernetix
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-11-2016

Fibre packet loss

Hi Plusnet, signed up to say you have a problem with your network as you may have noticed that a bunch of people are complaining about it. I too am also having this problem and I am unable to use the internet as I choose; depending on how quickly this is resolved and the support given will decide if I stay a customer.

I have checked my own equipment and can assure you its fine, as an network infrastructure engineer I know what I am doing! I've thrown in some trace routes for you; yes as you might be able to tell I am wired and not wireless.

 

C:\Users\Sybernetix>tracert -d bbc.co.uk

Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.22]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms X.X.X.X
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * 8 ms 7 ms 195.166.143.137
4 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 195.166.143.136
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 195.99.125.134
6 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 195.99.127.7
7 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 194.74.65.42
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 132.185.254.105
11 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms 132.185.255.148
12 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 212.58.244.22

Trace complete.

Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.23]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms X.X.X.X
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 195.166.143.136
5 9 ms * 8 ms 195.99.125.134
6 * 8 ms 9 ms 195.99.127.7
7 8 ms 8 ms 9 ms 194.74.65.42
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 132.185.254.105
11 * * 10 ms 132.185.255.148
12 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 212.58.244.23

Trace complete.

Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.23]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms X.X.X.X
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 195.166.143.136
5 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 195.99.125.134
6 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 195.99.127.7
7 * 8 ms 8 ms 194.74.65.42
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms 132.185.254.105
11 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms 132.185.255.148
12 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 212.58.244.23

Trace complete.

 

Ping statistics for 212.58.244.22:
Packets: Sent = 632, Received = 559, Lost = 73 (11% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 87ms, Average = 8ms

 

14 REPLIES
Sybernetix
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Here is another 5 min ping test 

 

Ping statistics for 212.58.244.22:
Packets: Sent = 583, Received = 483, Lost = 100 (17% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 230ms, Average = 12ms

 

 

Just in case you where going to ask if I had rebooted by router and modem, yes I have and please don't embarrass yourself by asking me to check my firewall or antivirus!

 

168bill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Been having exactly the same intermittently over the last week and been using the 'thinkbroadband' Ping monitor to track the issue. Don't want to post the graphs from the monitor, as shows my IP address, but this has shown regular packet loss during the periods where I am experiencing sudden performance issues. I use an Asus DSL-AC68U router and have found that when I am seeing these packet losses, if I login to the router and 'disable WAN' in the PVC settings and 'apply', then wait 30 secs and re-enable it and 'apply', it clears the packet loss (on Ping monitor) when the connection comes back up. I don't reset anything else in the router. I have tried this successfully 3 or 4 times now and each time it has worked, but interestingly each time I do this I have checked what PN Gateway I am connected to (using http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/) and it has changed each time. Of course, after a period of time (usually a few hours or a day at most), I notice performance issues again, check the Ping monitor and see that lost packets are occurring again.......but also that I am once again connected to a different Gateway. Not sure exactly what conclusion to draw, but can only assume that PN have a network issue that once you hit from a particular gateway you are tied to until you change gateways. The network issue really needs sorting, but until then, this does offer a short term workaround......at least it has done for me :-)
JamesDaGames
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 12-08-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Sounds like you having the exact same problem I am having which I have had for a week now

Here is my ongoing pingplotter graph to google:

google.com (19th nov -- ongoing).png

Also @168bill. When you share your thinkbroadband graph, it will not show your ip address, so you would be safe to post it. I don't have one to share because I have a dynamic IP.

 

I really do hope this gets fixed sooner rather than later.

 

Sweeney47
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 3
Registered: 28-08-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Connection fine all day, then suddenly I'm getting 55-60% packet loss out of nowhere... This has been ongoing for about 2 months now, I'm telling you, I'm moving provider the second my contract drops because this is beyond ridiculous...

 

Heck, I'm going to see if there's grounds to break my contract prior to that because I'm not getting the service I've been paying for! If they can't keep their end of the contract, why should I be obligated to mine? Beyond a joke now...

colorpilot
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

I am having the same problem Sad  currently connected to gateway pcn-ir01 and using the plusnet hub one.

If i am still having same problem tomorrow i will probably give plusnet a call and see what they say.

davenos
Rising Star
Posts: 189
Thanks: 33
Registered: 14-01-2015

Re: Fibre packet loss

@colorpilot If history is anything to go by when you call you will be told there is no issue, the last time this happened(a few months ago) it took nearly 8 weeks for Plusnet to acknowledge the problem. and they never said what was done to solve it, but whatever they did clearly hasn't worked.

 

gogadgetgo
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Same gateway for me, same problem. Here we go again...

Sybernetix
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

If they take 8 weeks to fix this issue I will just leave, Zen Internet have always been an excellent choice and never had an issue like this in the 2 years I was with them. 

168bill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Well,

This is my thinkbroadband graph from today and you can clearly see the major packet loss before I closed and reopened my WAN connection to connect through a different gateway just before 4pm. The difference after I forced a switch to a different gateway is glaring!!

I am now connected through gateway ptw-bng01 located in Telehouse West. I can't remember which it was before I changed it, but it was definitely a different gateway.

As you can see, with the exception of a couple of short duration (yet significant) package losses since 4pm, everything has been reasonably stable.

 

My Broadband Ping - MyPlusnetFiberConnection

Cheers,

--

Bill.

0rangecake
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 5
Registered: 17-09-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

15%~20% outbound packetloss on a weekend. this is ridiculous.

ogower
Dabbler
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-04-2013

Re: Fibre packet loss

Same thing here - unuseable for gaming. Been unhappy with this provider for a while so time to go.

168bill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Here we go again.......was out yesterday afternoon and evening so didn't notice till this morning!

Back to gateway pcn-bng01 located in Colindale Point of Presence and the packet loss is back with a vengeance!

Colindale always seems the worst for this.

 

My Broadband Ping - MyPlusnetFiberConnection

Time to force a gateway change again.......

168bill
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-11-2016

Re: Fibre packet loss

Couldn't get off Colindale this morning, kept getting routed back there every time I reset WAN, so went out for the day about 9am.

Just got home at 6pm and checked Ping monitor, close to 20% packet loss all day Angry.......have tried WAN reset again and am now connected to gateway pcl-bng01 located in City Lifeline House (not Colindale Thumbs Up), so will see how the monitor looks in half an hour or so, but can already see that there is a massive improvement with pretty much 0% packet loss!

 

My Broadband Ping - MyPlusnetFiberConnection

This is so poor........what is going on PN?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 12,999
Thanks: 784
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fibre packet loss

Bit of an update on the packet loss situation here.

@JamesDaGames, your problem looks to be a little closer to home.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵