cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

As per my subject, I have had fibre for a while now but I Don't get the speeds I expected. I have had a line check and no issues found but is there a way to force the line to re sync and check the speeds?

My neighbour is current receiving 55mb down and approx 16mb up, where as I am getting 40mb down and 14 up.
Checkers say I should get up to 67mb so I am sure an improvement can be made

27 REPLIES 27
Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Hi @cpjcutts, thanks for your post.

 

We're sincerely sorry to hear that your speeds aren't up to scratch.

 

We've checked the line and aren't detecting an issue and so we're going to have to do some troubleshooting to start ruling things out.

I'd recommend starting with basic checks here.

And if that doesn't help the next thing would be to rule your internal wiring out by plugging the connection into your test socket which is under the faceplate of your master socket and seeing if the speeds increase. This rules out internal wiring, face plates and extension sockets as being the cause. How to locate the test socket and set your connection into it can be found here.

 

If the problem still persists from here, you'll then be able to raise a fault here, letting us know via this thread when you've done so.

 

Please let us know how you get on.

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Thank you for the reply, I have accidently closed the case which was opened. Would it be possible to reinstate this please.

I have also carried out all the checks and there are no issues. Extra checks carried out include replacing the Open reach filter for a up to date version. I tried 3 new ones just to rule out an issue with maybe faulty face plates but this made no difference. I thought I would test this as when I first had fiber installed with Sky, this issue came up and a new faceplate increased the speed by nearly 9mb.
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 626
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Hi @cpjcutts,

Thank you for confirming the checks that you have completed.

I have opened a new ticket on your account which you can access here. In this ticket I'm requesting your availability for an engineers visit as the speed is slightly lower than the initial estimates provided and I can see the connection speed has been higher in the past.

Once you have replied to the ticket, please reply on here so we can pick it up as soon as possible for you.

Thanks again.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lewis G
 Infrastructure Operations Professional
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Hi, I have just responded to the message

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 626
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Thank you @cpjcutts,

Your appointment for an engineer has been booked for 25/02/2019 between 8am-1pm due to low speed. Let us know how the visit goes and feel free to get back in touch if we can be of further assistance in the meantime.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lewis G
 Infrastructure Operations Professional
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

That is great, thank you very much. Will keep you posted

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

I thought I would post up some information that might help. Interestingly I notice that my DS attainable rate is quite a bit higher than I am currently getting which is also why I think there maybe some external issues going on

---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------

   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME

   DS Actual Rate          : 42588000 bps   US Actual Rate       : 15983000 bps

   DS Attainable Rate      : 49437384 bps   US Attainable Rate   : 16096750 bps

   DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode         :        Fast

   DS Interleave Depth     :      621       US Interleave Depth  :        1

   NE Current Attenuation  :       20 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        6  dB

   DS actual PSD           :     6. 7 dB    US actual PSD        :     6. 9  dB

   NE CRC Count            :        0       FE CRC Count         :      671

   NE ES Count             :        0       FE  ES Count         :      551

   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        1

   ITU Version[0]          : fe004452       ITU Version[1]       : 41590000

   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-06-0D-01-07   [with Vectoring support]

   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0

   Test Mode               : DISABLE

  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------

   Far Current Attenuation :       25 dB    Far SNR Margin       :        6  dB

   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004946       CO ITU Version[1]    : 544eb206

   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < IFTN >

> sys ver

Router Model: Vigor130    Version: 3.8.4_BT English

Profile version: 3.0.0    Status: 1 (0x495137dc)

Router IP: 192.168.1.1    Netmask: 255.255.255.0

Firmware Build Date/Time: Sep 13 2018 13:40:44

Router Name:

Revision: 76500 V376

Current VDSL2 Firmware Version: 05-07-06-0D-01-07

ADSL Firmware Version: 05-07-02-08-00-01 Annex A

VDSL2 Firmware Version: 05-07-06-0D-01-07

Highlighted
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,325
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎09-10-2018

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Thanks for updating us @cpjcutts.

 

Please let us know how you get on with that engineer appointment and if you need anything else in the meantime please don't hesitate to drop us another post.

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Good evening, So an update to my issues today after a visit by an engineer.

Good news is that my sync speed is a lot higher now and that my ping speed is around 8 now from 16.
However for some reason when running a speed test I am still only getting around the 40mb mark tops. The engineer was initially getting 52mb from the socket and the modem was a little down. But with some tweeks after learning I was on an ECI cabinet I found I could lower the SNR to 3db. Here are the stats from my modem. So the question now is why when doing a speed test am I not getting close to the DS actual speed that I am synced at.

---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
Running Mode : 17A State : SHOWTIME
DS Actual Rate : 56461000 bps US Actual Rate : 15964000 bps
DS Attainable Rate : 57114792 bps US Attainable Rate : 16036920 bps
DS Path Mode : Fast US Path Mode : Fast
DS Interleave Depth : 1 US Interleave Depth : 1
NE Current Attenuation : 20 dB Cur SNR Margin : 3 dB
DS actual PSD : 6. 7 dB US actual PSD : 6. 9 dB
NE CRC Count : 96 FE CRC Count : 698
NE ES Count : 62 FE ES Count : 566
Xdsl Reset Times : 0 Xdsl Link Times : 1 ITU Version[0] : fe004452 ITU Version[1] : 41590000
VDSL Firmware Version : 05-07-09-0F-01-07 [with Vectoring support]
Power Management Mode : DSL_G997_PMS_L0
Test Mode : DISABLE
-------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
Far Current Attenuation : 25 dB Far SNR Margin : 6 dB
CO ITU Version[0] : b5004946 CO ITU Version[1] : 544eb206
DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR : < IFTN >

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

So I have today had the engineer visit and he has reset the line. I was receiving 52mb at the socket. but then there was an issue with the modem not sending this speed out. So a tweek to the modem seems to have helped this. However the speed tests are still coming back not the speed I expect even with an actual sync of around 54mb I still get just under 40mb when running a wired speed test.

 

---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
Running Mode : 17A
State : SHOWTIME
DS Actual Rate : 54475000 bps US Actual Rate : 15672000 bps
DS Attainable Rate : 54649704 bps US Attainable Rate : 15759497 bps
DS Path Mode : Fast US Path Mode : Fast
DS Interleave Depth : 1 US Interleave Depth : 1
NE Current Attenuation : 19 dB Cur SNR Margin : 4 dB
DS actual PSD : 6. 7 dB US actual PSD : 6. 9 dB
NE CRC Count : 13 FE CRC Count : 698
NE ES Count : 4 FE ES Count : 566
Xdsl Reset Times : 0 Xdsl Link Times : 2
ITU Version[0] : fe004452 ITU Version[1] : 41590000
VDSL Firmware Version : 05-07-09-0F-01-07 [with Vectoring support]
Power Management Mode : DSL_G997_PMS_L0 Test Mode : DISABLE 25/02/2019 192.168.1.1/doc/console.htm http://192.168.1.1/doc/console.htm 2/2
-------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
Far Current Attenuation : 25 dB Far SNR Margin : 6 dB
CO ITU Version[0] : b5004946 CO ITU Version[1] : 544eb206
DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR : < IFTN > >

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

I should also add that my ping has halfed from 16ms to 8 which seems good

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,631
Thanks: 273
Fixes: 57
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Hi @cpjcutts 

 

As you are syncing within limits, it's highly possible that your device/equipment is reducing throughput. 

 

Can you confirm if you are receiving these readings over multiple wired connections? 

 

Please check that all drivers are up to date and attempt a speed test with an alternate LAN Cable in a different browser. 

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Good afternoon

So I have tried all these methods today to try and eliminate any possibility on my side.

Mainly using the Draytek vigor 130 modem checked sync and showing as 55mb plugged directly in to this and setup a direct connection using laptop and ethernet cable. speed test will not go above 39mb

Then tried with the Draytek and the Asus router wired connection - same results above

Then tried Openreach modem, direct connection. same sync rates, same result on speed tests.
Then tried Plusnet hub (latest) , direct connection. Same sync rates, same results on speed test.

 

My guessing here is though although my sync rate is no where it should be, maybe my connection is banded. Has anyone checked this at all?

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎20-02-2019

Re: Fibre for sometime now but not getting the expected speeds

Also I forgot to add, I tried various Ethernet cables as well just to eliminate that possibility