cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre by telegraph poles

FIXED
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 04-04-2009

Fibre by telegraph poles

I've just seen a notice attached to the lamppost outside my house from Openreach stating that it will notify the council that it intends to install a fibre broadband pole outside no 22-24. (I am no 20)
I was aware that my exchange is due to have fibre around July time.  Does this mean that the fibre comes all the way to the pole, rather than the cabinet a street away?  And is this good news in terms of the speed I should be able to get when it is completed?
23 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,597
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 114
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Just looking into this for you.
I don't live too far away (Kiveton Park) so I'm hoping it's good news for us both  Grin
[EDIT]
The relevant website I can check is being updated at the moment unfortunately
.
Any chance you can attach a photo of the notice or PM me it?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 647
Thanks: 138
Fixes: 29
Registered: 17-10-2015

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

If they would bring FTTP to Anston that would be even better, you don't need Fibre Matt Tongue
In all seriousness though, it could be FTTP if they are bringing to the pole, hopefully Matthew finds something out for you .

 Paul Tarr
 Plusnet Network Operations
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 04-04-2009

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Not sure how well this will work but photo attached.
If it's Superfast south Yorks you are looking at, that the one I've been following, and the last time I was able to postcode search it said 3rd quarter this year I think.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,597
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 114
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Hmmm interesting.
I might have to go for a wander myself and track more notices down.  Grin
In all fairness it could be FTTP but we'll know for more closer to the time.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,230
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Quote
In all fairness it could be FTTP

You won't be able to afford it!! Shocked
summers
Grafter
Posts: 128
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-06-2014

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Fibre To The Pole, now there is an idea ..... Smiley
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 04-04-2009

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

So the next question is do Plusnet have a fttp package - nothing mentioned on the website - and how much is it likely to be.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 647
Thanks: 138
Fixes: 29
Registered: 17-10-2015

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

We currently don't have a normal package however we do have an FTTP trial which you can apply for at trials.Plus.Net

 Paul Tarr
 Plusnet Network Operations
RobPN
Pro
Posts: 808
Thanks: 76
Fixes: 3
Registered: 17-05-2013

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Quote from: wncfc
So the next question is do Plusnet have a fttp package - nothing mentioned on the website - ...

Check the FTTP forum  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 288
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Quote from: summers
Fibre To The Pole, now there is an idea ..... Smiley

Is that giving preferential service to customers from eastern Europe ?  Shocked  Right that's enough, I'm voting for Brexit !  Cheesy
wncfc
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 04-04-2009

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Quote from: Matthew
Hmmm interesting.
I might have to go for a wander myself and track more notices down.  Grin


Just been round our small estate and there are a few notices around.  Not seen anything around the main road though.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,597
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 114
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

@wncfc
I think I may have seen one on my way into work near the chippy but drove past too fast to make out.
I've sent off a few 'enquiries' Wink
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
wncfc1
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 08-04-2016

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

This company keeps popping up in my Facebook feed.  

Hello Wales!

Great News. We have received approval to extend our network to you, and are now in the final stages. Once our minimum order threshold has been met we will begin service!

 

This is their website:  http://pinemedia.net/wales/

 

 

Do they really have their own fibre network, or are they just the same as other ISPs using Openreach?  Seems very strange it popping up at the same time as Openreach's notices.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,597
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 114
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Fibre by telegraph poles

Their website states "As we are entirely independent of BT's network there is no complicated migration procedure - just order with us and choose to cancel your existing service whenever you like." So based on that I don't think it's related as the planning notice is from BT and not them.

On another note as the Superfast South Yorkshire website is back up your post code shows July while September. I think it'll be a case of keeping eyes peeled.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team