cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Patd95yrg
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 17-09-2016

Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

I've had fibre from plusnet for 6 days. For the first few days the download speed was 38mbps or so & upload 2mbps (so as expected). The trouble was online gaming was stuttering constantly on a ps4.

This stuttering during gaming has now stopped - but another problem has materialised.

My download speed is now 6mbps (upload the same) & the router is disconnecting from the Internet every hour or two!

Does anyone have any idea what is going on or is plusnet really as bad a provider as they so far seem, with a service not "fit for purpose"?
26 REPLIES
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 822
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 21
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

fwiw, it is unlikely router disconnection problems you are witnessesing are caused by the current 'packet loss' issue experienced by some users.

Can I suggest you try the following basic diagnostics and report back?

 

Were your speed tests and disconnections observed over a wired or wireless connection?

 

Run BT performance tester on a web browser on a PC.

http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/

Click on 'Further Diagnostics' at the end of the first test and report the downstream and upstream 'IP profile' speeds.

 

If downstream IP proflie is significantly less than 38 mbps, check your internal wiring

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/connection-troubleshooting/

 

Try the hub connected to the engineer's 'Test Socket', which will bypass all your internal telephone extension wiring, to see if normal 38mbps speed is restored:

https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/Testing-From-The-Master-Socket/ba-p/1322242

 

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hey,

How are you connected to your router? Wireless or Ethernet Cable?

If it's Wireless, can you connect via Ethernet Cable and see if the same issue occurs?

Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Patd95yrg
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 17-09-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hi I'm connected via lan to a games console & just use the wireless for an iphone. When the disconnection occurs both the wireless & wired connections drop
Patd95yrg
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 17-09-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hi thanks for this. I'll test these out to see
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 822
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 21
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

If you cannot run the BT wholesale speed tester, perhaps use web browser on your phone to log into the Hub One at   192.168.1.254.

Go to Advanced tab.

Choose Broadband tab.

I think it should report the downstream and upstream line speeds.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

I've had a look at your connection logs from our side and it looks as though when it drops your LAN and Wireless out, it's not disconnecting the Internet, so that's ruled out a problem with the line, but perhaps with the router.

What router are using? Is it the Hub One?

Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Patd95yrg
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 17-09-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hi, Yes it is a hub one router
Patd95yrg
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 17-09-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hi, yeah it appears to be reporting the speeds as normal - may be the router then?
Gregg
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-07-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

I have the same problem, was on 80/20 and now i am on 3mbit at the most and always disconnecting.

 

They need to sort their [-Censored-] out because I am not putting up with this poor service for another 6 weeks while they [-Censored-] around wasting open reach engineers and my time.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hi Gregg, have you been through any troubleshooting and reported this to us?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Gregg
Grafter
Posts: 55
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-07-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Plusnet have network issues, maybe they should do some troubleshooting on their end.

 

I have some basic images for them to follow, stuff like how to plug in a rj45. Maybe this would help them?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

If we have network issues this will not affect the sync connection between your router and the cabinet, which is why I've asked about the troubleshooting.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Patd95yrg
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 17-09-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

Hi Chris, it does appear to be the router dropping at which point neither wireless nor wired connect.

I've tried resetting all router settings & as much & where possible to factory presets, but to no avail.
Should I be calling to request a new router?
bobminors
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 158
Thanks: 34
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-09-2016

Re: Fibre broadband at 6mbps disconnects every couple of hours

@Patd95yrg


My download speed is now 6mbps (upload the same) & the router is disconnecting from the Internet every hour or two!

If you are actually getting 6Mbps upload, maybe your router is dropping out of VDSL and reverting to ADSL?

On your router home page, go to the Troubleshooting / Event Log tab and set the "Category" pulldown to "WAN".

The first entry should be something like

11:28:56, 21 Sep. ( 131.960000) WAN operating mode is VDSL

 and a bit further down, something like

11:28:53, 21 Sep. ( 129.050000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=39952Kbps, Up Rate=1999Kbps; SNR Margin Down=17.8dB, Up=30.7dB

 

Do you see something similar?