cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre best 3rd party router to use

allenjamieson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-02-2016

Fibre best 3rd party router to use

Just a quick question,
have fibre with one of these plusnet hub things, the downside is, wireless dosent seem to get to my bedroom approx 10 ft away, used to be fine with other routers, what 3rd party router do you suggest i get to replace it?

i was thinking about replacing it with this?
https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RTAC68U/
12 REPLIES
acr
Rising Star
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

The Asus router that you are thinking about is not a VDSL router and therefore will not work with Fibre without a separate modem (which are no longer supplied).
Here is a list of suitable VDSL routers:-
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html
I have the Netgear D7000 which has good wireless capabilities but the TP Link TD-W9980 and various Billion models seem to be the most popular choices with users on this forum. Be careful if you have Plusnet TV as not all of these router will work with it.
allenjamieson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-02-2016

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

ahh superb! thankyou
i have this on my wall, think its a modem

thankfully no plusnet TV, I'll see if i can get hold of the D7000
dannyboy75
Rising Star
Posts: 97
Thanks: 19
Registered: 06-08-2015

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

That Asus should work fine with your modem. I'm using a very similar RT-N66U with the Openreach-supplied ECI modem (looks same as yours) without any issues at all.
Wireless range is excellent too, can pick it up from my man-cave which is a separate building about 20m away.
MartyPop
Rising Star
Posts: 137
Thanks: 13
Registered: 01-10-2014

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

I'm using this one: https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RTAC56U/
Works just fine with the OpenReach modem and wireless signal is excellent.
acr
Rising Star
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Fixes: 1
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

My previous reply had assumed that you had a Plusnet Hub One and therefore no Openreach modem. If you want to continue using your Openreach modem then there are many more routers that will work (including the Asus).
allenjamieson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-02-2016

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

Quote from: dannyboy75
That Asus should work fine with your modem. I'm using a very similar RT-N66U with the Openreach-supplied ECI modem (looks same as yours) without any issues at all.
Wireless range is excellent too, can pick it up from my man-cave which is a separate building about 20m away.

Excellent thank you, just got one from PC world for £85 Smiley
allenjamieson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-02-2016

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

Quote from: dannyboy75
That Asus should work fine with your modem. I'm using a very similar RT-N66U with the Openreach-supplied ECI modem (looks same as yours) without any issues at all.
Wireless range is excellent too, can pick it up from my man-cave which is a separate building about 20m away.

do i need the cable & fibre one? (dont fancy buying the wrong thing)
dannyboy75
Rising Star
Posts: 97
Thanks: 19
Registered: 06-08-2015

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

Not sure what you mean - there's only one type AFAIK?
allenjamieson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-02-2016

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

all sorted and installed, speeds fantastic
on cable was getting approx 35mb, after new router... boom?
TheSanctuary
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 26-01-2016

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

Good to read that, as I've got a similar model
http://www.asus.com/Networking/DSLAC68U/
But still waiting for the new service to be enabled.
Just wondering if you can tell us what connection settings you've used on your Asus?
lengreen
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

I have a Plusnet Hub One and get good wifi coverage in my bedroom/office which is about 25 feet from the router.  I get just a small wifi loss on the 38mbps which I get at the router, giving me about 36 or 37 mbps in the bedroom.  This is much better than the TP Link router I was using before.
allenjamieson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-02-2016

Re: Fibre best 3rd party router to use

Quote from: TheSanctuary
Good to read that, as I've got a similar model
http://www.asus.com/Networking/DSLAC68U/
But still waiting for the new service to be enabled.
Just wondering if you can tell us what connection settings you've used on your Asus?

basically went through the wizard, didnt really change anything
PPPoE
Enabled wan
Enabled Nat
Enabled UPNP
Connect WAN DNS Auto
MTU 1492
MRU 1492