Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre activation today?

JamesF2
Dabbler

Fibre activation today?

Hello,

I am an existing PlusNet customer, due to upgrade to fibre today. Had an email at 1 this morning to say is complete. I have an NTE5 master socket and a PlusNet technicolor TG582n router. According to the PlusNet Fibre Broadband FAQ 13(https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/faqs/fibre-optic-broadband/#new-router):

Will I need a new router? Yes. A wireless fibre router is available (P&P £6.99) with all fibre packages. We'll make sure it arrives before or on your go live day.

No router has been sent. As the page also suggests I have googled this name and "VDSL2 Fibre" and am not convinced that it supports fibre.

I appreciate it will take the service a few days to bed down but am keen to know if my technology is compatible with fibre.

Thanks,

James

6 REPLIES 6
Terranova667
Pro
Fixes: 5

Re: Fibre activation today?

Hi the TG582N is just a router it has no modem they were used for fibre back in the day when Openreach supplied the modem and did the fibre install in the home, that doesn't happen any more as it's now a self install openreach no longer provide the modem. 

you need to contact plusnet and request the HUB ONE this is a combined modem and router so you won't need to use the TG582N any more, you will need to pay the £6.99 P&P though.

As it currently stands you have no means to use fibre. 

JamesF2
Dabbler

Thanks very much Terranova667. Disappointed that PlusNet didn't sort this out when they took the order for the upgrade. Not good customer service, how about being proactive not reactive?

HarryB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 256

@JamesF2 wrote:

Disappointed that PlusNet didn't sort this out when they took the order for the upgrade. Not good customer service, how about being proactive not reactive?