cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Upload Speed

jafreer
Aspiring Pro

Fibre Upload Speed

I wonder if anyone from PN can assist me with trying to determine if my FTTC upload speed is within the estimate, or whether it is a little on the low side.
I am new to fibre, having only had it installed this week.
My BT Speed estimates are as follows...
FTTC Range A (Clean) : Downstream : High=64.4, Low = 45.3
FTTC Range B (Impacted) : Downstream : High=54.8, Low = 30.6
FTTC Range A (Clean) : Upstream : High=18.5, Low = 11.9
FTTC Range B (Impacted) : Upstream : High=18, Low = 7.9
I am consistently achieving around 37.5 Mbps on download (I check it each day since the install). This is close to PN's speed estimate (40 Mps) given at the time of sign up.
On upload, I am consistently achieving 7.4 to 8 Mbps.
I also checked with the BT speedtester, and it shows around 38 Mbps down, and 7 Mbps up. The BT IP Profile for my line is 50.3 Mbps, but I understand PN cap it to 40 Mbps at their end because I am on the 40 Mbps product.
The BT upload profile is 20 Mbps.
So the question is this...
Is my upload speed in line with what I should expect? Some people have suggested it should be a little higher based on the above figures.
PN, can you help?
Thanks in advance for any assistance.
18 REPLIES 18
AndyH
Grafter

Re: Fibre Upload Speed

It would seem you're on the low side for the upload.
Does this tester http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html give a similar result?
jafreer
Aspiring Pro

Thanks Andy - Yes, that one gives the same results.
I also forgot to say that all testing is done via ethernet cable directly into the TG582n FTTC router.
MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 480

Your upload sync is currently at 8.3mbps so its just above the minimum range for the impacted upload.
Was your service installed by a contractor or a actual Openreach engineer?