cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Sanctified
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2016

Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Hello all.

Just before the Bank Holiday I reported my phone line as down.

On the Tuesday after the holiday an engineer came out and fixed
a fault in the cabinet.

This resulted in my line speed dropping by another 2Mbps on top
of the 5Mbps that I lost when I was installing and linking
my own router and modem.

After last weeks Internet downtime I've lost another 4Mbps.

When I installed the Openreach modem, my connection went up from
28Mb to 30Mb, but when I was configuring my ASUS router, with some
modem offs and ons, I lost 5Mb to 25Mb.

That was it for a few months till the phone went down.

So I'm now on 19Mb, and I'm thinking about saving a fiver p/m by
reverting to ADSL2 as I'm now getting the same speed as I did
before fibre.

Otherwise, if there is a way of getting my fibre line refreshed back to scratch, I'd be glad to hear it.

8 REPLIES
geek26
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Sadly fibre lines are managed automatically and plusnet does not have the ability to change many settings so I imagine there would be little they could do without sending out openreach.

 

If your speed is below the estimate for your line you could report this as a speed fault at faults.plus.net

 

James

Sanctified
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Hi James.

What an absurd situation.

I remember d/ling my first MP3, Gettin Jiggy With It, at 5Kbps in '97.

With Winter approaching, with its inevitable power cuts and Internet
outages, by Spring I could be back to that speed. Smiley

I wonder why Openreach would need to be "sent out" to refresh my profile,
when they don't get "sent out" to drop the profile.

As you said, its automatic, and in fact so fast that if an engineer was needed

to drop the Profile, they would need to be living in a tent next to the cabinet.

I checked the estimate the other day in the Member Centre, and it said
there is no estimate.

I just did a check on the Broadband Availability Checker, and of course
the estimate is in line with my current BT Profile, Max 20Mbps, so no
surprise there.

Whatever speed my line has been at, 30, 28, 25, 23, 19, it has been rock steady, and yet my

Profile is dropped any time my modem/router is not detected.

This has caused me to leave my TV on 24/7 in case I lose channels.Wink

 

John.

geek26
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

I fully understand your frustrations sadly not working for plusnet I'm fairly limited to what I could do about this the  only thing I can suggest is getting plusnet to check your line. Assuming your line is in good condition and your broadband is not dropping out your ip profile may slowly increase back to normal levels as DLM sees an improvement in stability.

 

Sorry I could not be of any further assistance,

James 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,085
Thanks: 2,067
Fixes: 142
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav)

Unhelpful message removed.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Sanctified
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Hi James.

No need to apologise, as you at least tried to help.

I suppose I have to assume that none of the other 160 users

who viewed my post work for Plusnet either, or have anything

helpful to contribute.

Thanks.

John.

Sanctified
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed


Sanctified wrote:

Hi James.

What an absurd situation.

I remember d/ling my first MP3, Gettin Jiggy With It, at 5Kbps in '97.

With Winter approaching, with its inevitable power cuts and Internet
outages, by Spring I could be back to that speed. Smiley

I wonder why Openreach would need to be "sent out" to refresh my profile,
when they don't get "sent out" to drop the profile.

As you said, its automatic, and in fact so fast that if an engineer was needed

to drop the Profile, they would need to be living in a tent next to the cabinet.

I checked the estimate the other day in the Member Centre, and it said
there is no estimate.

I just did a check on the Broadband Availability Checker, and of course
the estimate is in line with my current BT Profile, Max 20Mbps, so no
surprise there.

Whatever speed my line has been at, 30, 28, 25, 23, 19, it has been rock steady, and yet my

Profile is dropped any time my modem/router is not detected.

This has caused me to leave my TV on 24/7 in case I lose channels.Wink

 

John.


 

Well, I'm down to under 16Mbps now, so half my best and 3Mbps lower than my

ADSL speed.

 

My equipment hasn't been disconnected, at least not by me, since I started this thread,

and a BTW test gave this new lower speed and a corresponding lower IP Profile.

 

I see others are talking about low speeds, but no mention of new lower IP Profiles.

 

I joined at the beginning of March, can anyone say what it will cost me to bail?

 

Thanks, John.

 

geek26
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 192
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

It will cost a fair amount I imagine if you only joined in march you can check here once on this page look for you current package the cost upon cancellation will give you the figure.

James

Sanctified
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Thanks: 1
Registered: 15-07-2016

Re: Fibre Line Down to ADSL Speed

Hi James, thanks for that.

 

It says £143, so If PN can't fix it, I'll need to look at the cash difference

between ADSL and Fibre, to see how much more I'm paying for less.

 

Disappointment can be so, erm, disappointing.

 

John.

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules