cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Extra Speed

Rappers
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-12-2017

Fibre Extra Speed

Upgraded on Monday and was getting around 70Mbps, then from Wednesday only averaging 35Mbps, not happy with this and have tried everything to speed it up. Should they have supplied me with the new Hub One faster router?

6 REPLIES
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,273
Thanks: 68
Fixes: 3
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Fibre Extra Speed

Hi it would make no difference all fibre based modem / routers handle speeds up to the max 80Mb as indicated by you getting 70Mb for a couple of days.

This sounds like you may have a fault that needs reporting and fixing.

Manny7860
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 191
Thanks: 33
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: Fibre Extra Speed

For all ADSL and WBC Fibre to the Cabinet (FTTC) services, the stable line rate will be determined during the first 10 days of service usage."
Excellent!
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 746
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Fibre Extra Speed

@Manny7860 don't believe everything you read! That doesn't apply to FTTC even though it is present on BT's site.

eta DLM on FTTC

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Rappers
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-12-2017

Re: Fibre Extra Speed

Plusnet,what is your opinion on this..?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,442
Thanks: 229
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Fibre Extra Speed

Some actual figures might be more useful. What are your expected speeds on the DSL checker?

And what are your actual speeds reported on the Helpdesk page from the router?

Do you have a modern VDSL faceplate, and are you plugged into your master socket?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,200
Thanks: 2,050
Fixes: 359
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Fibre Extra Speed

Hi there. Testing your line isn't showing any issues.

Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 80.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Voice Line Test Result Pass

 

Are your devices connected over WiFi or using an ethernet cable?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team