cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

bluesodium
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-09-2017

Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

My broadband seems to be dropping and reconnecting on a very regular basis ... up to 20/30 times a day by the looks of it.

 

Is there any way to test this issue?

10 REPLIES
runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 538
Thanks: 64
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

Hi there. 

First thing id do is test for a line fault. Frequent disconnects are indicative of a line fault. Find out if there is any noise on the line . Dial 17070 for a quiet line test.  

Who is your phone rental paid to? If there is a line fault it needs to be checked and fixed by your phone provider. 

log into the plus net member centre and find the area where you can troubleshoot phone problems. 

https://www.plus.net/help/phone/phone-line-troubleshooting/

get back here with any results of the line test . 

 

Good luck. 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 497
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

Hello @bluesodium

 

Sorry to hear you are experiencing drops in your connection. I have run some tests on your line, which shows the line looks good from our side. Could you advise if it is over a wired connection or wireless you are seeing these drops.

 

If on wireless can you try a wired connection and see if it is the same. Please let us know how you get on.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
bluesodium
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-09-2017

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

HI, 

Cheers for that....

I think its the hub one itself rebooting/disconnecting rather than a line based issue, judging by the  TR069 event log. it appears to be getting a new lease every 40 minutes or so?!?!

Basically 10 or 20 of these a day, like this :

https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Connection-drops-several-times-a-day/td-p/1380305

I 'm going to disconnect all devices and bring them all up one by one.

 

 

Cheers......

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,578
Thanks: 3,087
Fixes: 485
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

Do you have a Chromecast? And does the light on the front of your router change colour? If so does it go green?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
bluesodium
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-09-2017

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

Yes and Yes..

 

Two Chromecast Audios and one regular Chromecast unplugged as of this morning....I've not monitored reboots since ..will check later.

 

.Question is..so we can't use Chromecasts with the Hub One!?!?!?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,578
Thanks: 3,087
Fixes: 485
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

It was a while ago we saw this issue, but if I remember correctly the problem seemed that it was to do with the firmware of the Chromecast. It might be worth taking a look at the Google forums for more advice.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 538
Thanks: 64
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

I use a Chromecast and I have PN hub one and no issues at all,  but the Chromecast linked to a seperate wifi access point in another part of the house

bluesodium
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎29-09-2017

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

Everything disconnected.. still losing connectivity..

 

a whole bunch of these in the TR069 event log...

 

10:29:59, 27 Jan. (292616.240000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:29:59, 27 Jan. (292616.060000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo
10:29:49, 27 Jan. (292606.550000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:29:49, 27 Jan. (292606.550000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:28:57, 27 Jan. (292554.550000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
10:28:54, 27 Jan. (292551.270000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:28:54, 27 Jan. (292551.260000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:28:20, 27 Jan. (292516.910000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
10:28:19, 27 Jan. (292516.360000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:28:19, 27 Jan. (292516.350000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:28:19, 27 Jan. (292515.860000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 4 VALUE CHANGE
03:52:59, 27 Jan. (268796.240000) CWMP: session completed successfully
03:52:59, 27 Jan. (268796.050000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo
03:52:50, 27 Jan. (268787.020000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
03:52:50, 27 Jan. (268787.010000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
03:51:58, 27 Jan. (268735.570000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
03:51:55, 27 Jan. (268732.650000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
03:51:55, 27 Jan. (268732.640000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
03:51:21, 27 Jan. (268698.160000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
03:51:21, 27 Jan. (268698.140000) CWMP: Server URL: https://dbtpnhdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
03:51:21, 27 Jan. (268698.130000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '4 VALUE CHANGE'
03:51:20, 27 Jan. (268697.650000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 4 VALUE CHANGE

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

That is just the router "phoning home", nothing to do with disconnections.

What symptoms do you actually have?

Is your phone line quiet? Dial 17070 from a corded phone.

Do the router lights change colour when these disconnections happen?

runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 538
Thanks: 64
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Re: Fibre Broadband constantly reconnecting

I agree with @Mustrum

Google tells us ....

"CWMP (CPE WAN Management Protocol) is a protocol used by service providers to manage the router  ..These messages indicate the Router was trying to connect to the ACS (Auto Configuration Server) and could not for some reason. It does not indicate the broadband disconnecting."