cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fiber estimate

samgo5
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎13-02-2015

Fiber estimate

Hello
I have now 40mbit fiber and after chat with eneginier who setup it and plus net chat on website test says I can go up to 76mbit but when I take "product change"
estimate shows up to 54mbits..
If I take this 54 will my speed be caped at 54 or this speed is just minimum plusnet can guarantee and it can go higher?
9 REPLIES
gc66
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-03-2014

Re: Fiber estimate

Hi,
With 40Mb fibre are you getting the full 40Mb or only 27Mb which is half the 54 estimated for the 80Mb product?
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Fiber estimate

Good morning @samgo5 and welcome to the forums
There is a tolerance on the estimate and it can go up or down but it is a good indication what to expect. If you check other threads there is a general drift downwards as other customers connect to your cabinet.
So if you change product with that estimate you should see an increase to something like but the guarantees are hedged round by the upper and lower limits given in your actual speed tests. The product would give just under the 80Mbps on a perfect line next to the cabinet but your line must not be perfect and that limits you to the 54Mbps
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 873
Thanks: 347
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Fiber estimate

The speed estimate is just that, not a cap, you may get more than 54Mbps but don't expect to get speeds in the 70+Mbps region that require 80Mbps sync. Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Fiber estimate

If you run the BT Speed Tester and Further Diagnostics, this will tell you your IP Profile which will confirm the speed you can get if you change to the Up To 80Mbps product.
Krazeh
Grafter
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎06-02-2013

Re: Fiber estimate

Quote from: RealAleMadrid
The speed estimate is just that, not a cap, you may get more than 54Mbps but don't expect to get speeds in the 70+Mbps region that require 80Mbps sync. Smiley

I got an estimate of 60mbits, but I'm connected at 78...
samgo5
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎13-02-2015

Re: Fiber estimate

Thx for all answers..all I needed to know Smiley
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: Fiber estimate

If you do decide to change, just raise a ticket or give us a quick call and we'll sort it for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
samgo5
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎13-02-2015

Re: Fiber estimate

Thx All for answers..and only for infro purpuse I dig up old thread..although I was estimated at 54 my speed is 80(max).
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Fiber estimate

Open Reach engineer told me due to my wire length from cabinet result of both Up to 38 and up to 76 would be the same.
So sounds you would do better than I if paying for the faster as you would get some increase I would pay but no increase.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png