cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fiber and line installation

FIXED
docs209
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2021

Fiber and line installation

Currently, i cannot Fiber installed, and I'm stuck with a 1mb d/l speed from the socket. My main question is can i pay for a better line to be installed or a fiber line to my house. If so, what are the costs, and can it be done through Plusnet?

9 REPLIES 9
daveplus
Pro
Posts: 601
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Fiber and line installation

@docs209 No it is calendar days

see point 9 at at Standard Terms https://www.plus.net/help/legal/terms/

bmc
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 353
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Fiber and line installation

@docs209 

You need to find what;'s available at your property first. Use the following

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-telecoms-and-internet/advice-for-consumers/advice/ofcom-checker

https://www.openreach.com/

 

These will tell you what is or may become available.

 

Brian

daveplus
Pro
Posts: 601
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Fiber and line installation

sorry, I posted my previous comment in error Dave
docs209
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2021

Re: Fiber and line installation

Hi Brian, one says i can get superfast BB, the other says i cant get fiber yet. I've asked Plus net customer services what i can get, and they said i can only get the very basic package, so I'm confused/

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,755
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Fiber and line installation

@docs209  then why not post a copy of the results from the BTW DSL checker, hiding your number, there are plenty of people on here who can help you understand the results.

docs209
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-06-2021

Re: Fiber and line installation

Screenshot 2021-09-26 185355.png

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,755
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Fiber and line installation

OK, so it shows that you could get higher FTTC/VDSL speeds, but the cabinet is full, hence only the slower ADSL is currently available.

bmc
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 353
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Fiber and line installation

@docs209 

Look to the right of the image and you'll it says waiting list. As previously mentioned this means your cabinet is full. PlusNet are right in what they state, but surely should have told you it's because of capacity issues.

 

You need to keep checking on a reguslar basis (almost daily) and if you see availability place an order.

 

Brian

LaurenB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 286
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Fiber and line installation

Fix

Hiya @docs209, thanks for getting in touch. I am sorry that you are currently unable to get FTTC. As the others have mentioned, this is due to the capacity and once availability shows, we will be able to get an order placed.

 

Just keep an eye on the broadband checker and get in touch with our team once FTTC shows available.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lauren Barry
 Plusnet Help Team