cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC

matthewleggott
Grafter

FTTC

I am new to FTTC, only experience of it is at work via Zen so want to ask a few questions.
Where we are the cabs have gone in and I am told they will be live in 6 or so weeks, basically watch for the stickers on them, is this right
We are currently with PlusNet for everything and that is the way it will stay.
Can I pre order and at the moment?  Also I am currently in Market 1 area, what will I be paying?
At work we have the BTOR modem thing put in and then linked to our Draytek, could I use this http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/products/15133-draytek-v2760n/ as the one device?  Currently using a Draytek 2920n with a Vigor 120 so not a big issues but if I cannot use the one linked to will the 2920n be ok as have heard some are iffy with the speeds?  Also any other recommendations router wise, needs WiFi if the key thing and ideally a VPN so I can create a site to site link.
I have a static IP will that remain?
My master socket could do with moving, will the OR do this or not?  Would like it in a better location due to changes.  Willing to assist, only has to run cable, drill one hole and clip cable.
From order to install rough time scale?
Also got 2 other neighbours close by both PN what are the chances of getting all 3 in at once?  Would be looking at taking day off work to assist in transfer over and resetup of any kit as I believe a ADSL Modem Router all in one would be no good anymore?
Think that is it, know its a lot of questions but not a product I've had much experience in yet, always been cable, direct fibre, ADSL or ISDN so lots of questions.
Thanks
4 REPLIES 4
grm
Dabbler

Re: FTTC

My cabinet went live recently so hopefully these answers will be useful.
Our cabinet went live before the stickers ever appeared (there are still none). I was checking http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/ twice a day from when it first appeared.