Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC speed and old master socket

Racalman
Grafter
Fixes: 1

FTTC speed and old master socket

I recently switched to FTTC. I am 900 metres from the cabinet and my estimated download speed was 35 to 40 Mbps.

The line stats from my Draytek router are:

Actual Rate

Kbps

Attainable Rate

Kbps

SNR Margin

dB

Attenuation

dB

The BT Wholesale speed test gave these results:

Download speed achieved during the test was - 21.79 Mbps

For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 20 Mbps-21.68 Mbps .

Additional Information: IP Profile for your line is - 21.68 Mbps

Is this right? It seems a lot lower than the estimate I was given.

Could this be due to the fact that I have an old LJU2 master socket? I understand that the surge suppressor can cause issues with VDSL.

If so can I expect a free upgrade to an NTE5 or will I have to pay?

Mike

OR ...

Could it be due to my estate being built in the 1970s and still having aluminium cable? How can I find out?

12 REPLIES 12
Animegav
Dabbler

Re: FTTC speed and old master socket

Scroll to the bottom of the post for the succinct answer.

When I placed my order I was given a speed estimate of 40-50mbps, my results from the Openreach ADSL checker give me a max line speed of 50.8mbps.

I get 55mbps.

For whatever reason (capacity, fault fix) I later get a max potential speed of 77mbps, I still get 55mbps. Engineer tells me 55mbps is all I'll get (I'm 490m from the cabinet)

A non- NTE5 socket could have an impact. I gained 12-15mbps when I switched mine out. Though I did also remove a few metres of internal cable wired from a junction box and connect the new socket directly to the drop wire.

Short answer- probably

If you're going to swap it out (2 wires- it's not hard) then remove as much excess cable as possible to maximize speed gains- size matters and less is more.