cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Memphis1985
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 06-07-2011

FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Just a  quick query for the chaps more in the know than I Smiley
Tomorrow I have an OR engineer visit booked that 'should' have the explicit instruction to move me to a new port at the DSLAM to try to resolve some attrocious peak time speed drops (54Mbps throughput down to 9Mbps throughput on download only - never losing sync, rock solid at ALL other times).
I am just curious as to how the DLM handles this sort of move. Is the port treated as an effective brand new connection, thusly starting at 80/20? Or does my current DLM setting and profile transfer over?
As I say, more curiosity than anything. Not expecting a miraculous jump in sync rate Cheesy.
26 REPLIES
Melancholie
Grafter
Posts: 451
Thanks: 1
Registered: 23-07-2013

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Completely new connection. The DSLAM in the cabinet, which runs the DLM, has no idea that it's the same subscriber. You will start from the beginning again as far as DLM is concerned.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

It's very unlikely to be a faulty port btw - particularly if it's a problem at peak times.
Openreach's remote monitoring should show if the port is faulty  or if the connection to the exchange (CVLAN) is not working as it should or is saturated.
Which exchange are you on?
Memphis1985
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 06-07-2011

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Many thanks Melancholie Smiley
AndyH - Unfortunately, I fear it won't help either, but it's currently the next step / small hope.
I connect through the Daviot exchange which according to the lovely lady I spoke with on Friday isn't showing any signs of congestion or oversubscription. Unfortunately, my troubles have every bit the halmarks of congestion/contention, but I don't think it's down to Plusnet network.
Every weekday, my download throughput (only) deteriorates from 54Mbps that it will run all through the day, down to roughly 9-10Mbps at 9pm. This will then begin to climb back to 54Mbps again by 11pm. At the weekend, such as today, download throughput begun to fall at around 2pm. It is still currently down at 10Mbps.
These are todays TBB speed test results if you can be bothered to look through, that clearly indicate the gradual loss of download throughput:
08/03/2015 - 00:02 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142577281421234698555
08/03/2015 - 12:27 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=14258174543288732074
08/03/2015 - 12:58 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142581943419009359576
08/03/2015 - 14:31 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142582501426151190913
08/03/2015 - 14:50 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142582613224527187588
08/03/2015 - 15:24 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142582813120708585882
08/03/2015 - 15:59 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142583023423748136988
08/03/2015 - 16:08 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142583080775825143289
08/03/2015 - 16:16 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142583131418742042254
08/03/2015 - 17:26 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142583545429884080701
08/03/2015 - 17:56 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142583725432037713439
08/03/2015 - 20:36 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142584691432614097627 - Lowest ever result
08/03/2015 - 21:51 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142585146138874363634
08/03/2015 - 22:08 - http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=142585242219394184743
I've isolated my entire network by connecting directly to the OR modem and using a direct PPPoE session which still produces reduced speed. There are no signs this is an internal REIN issue as the start of the degredation doesn't coincide with anything coming on or being switched on. There are also clearly no issues on my line as I have never suffered a loss of sync, nor has my IP profile or interleaving setting changed. In fact after the engineer visit last week that lead to Wholesale manually degrading my IP profile to 35Mbps, my line immediately jumped back to 54Mbps the next morning, while still suffering the degraded throughput at peak time.
I've hoped gateways more times than I care for when the fault started occuring a month ago, so I don't believe it is PN congestion as I initially did when I started posting in that large thread!
Stumped, so shall await the engineer tomorrow! Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Interesting you're being told there are no signs of congestion.
Your exchange is a child of Inverness Macdhui (parent exchange). There are a number of connections at that exchange which are congested and one of them looks to have been ongoing for weeks and is estimated to be fixed on 11 March (new circuit being provisioned).
I cannot tell you which connection (SVLAN) you're on, but the issues you're seeing do tie in with what's being reported by the suppliers (BT Wholesale) on a number of exchanges. Hopefully one of the CRT members at Plusnet can better advise tomorrow.
Memphis1985
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 06-07-2011

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Very interesting information Andy! Smiley
Will see what tomorrow brings in both response from PN and with the engineer. I don't suppose a port change might change the SVLAN?
For PN team info - I know this forum account isn't linked to the correct PN account for this fault so the ticket in question is #99438722 Smiley
Memphis1985
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 06-07-2011

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Engineer been and gone. Well, never actually came to the house but he did spend nearly 2 hours at the cab.
Wholesale denied the port change despite the fact that I was told that was what he was explicitly called out to do. He apparently spoke with both Plusnet and Wholesale, the end of which has lead Wholesale to decide they are still seeing errors (that nobody else is) and they have now applied error correction to my line. Interesting as the ludicrously strict DLM has never done this before.
My throughput has now fallen to 47Mbps and latency has risen due to the error correction.
Even the engineer suspects this will not help. Roll on 9pm to see how low it goes tonight!
Memphis1985
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 06-07-2011

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Shock horror - Impacted speeds already  Angry
Throughput down to 35Mbps, so will clearly fall exactly as per every other night.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Ask them on your ticket to check your SVLAN and which one it is.
Memphis1985
Grafter
Posts: 37
Registered: 06-07-2011

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Shall try!
Could you keep me up to speed with the connection at Macdhui that is scheduled for resolution on Wednesday? As you say it's been outstanding for a number of weeks, that would coincide nicely with when this carry-on started.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Sure...it says on one spreadsheet due 11 March and another spreadsheet 3 April.
Plusnet need to check if you're on this affected circuit and if so, the estimated date fix.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,612
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Interesting. I am also on NSIMD and have had recent synch issues, although I believe I'm right in thinking that SVLAN congestion would not be behind a large drop in synch rate over the last couple of weeks.
Still - it would be interesting to know if I am also being affected by this on top of my lost synch speed.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Yeah, sync issues would be a localised issue between your property and the cabinet.
Do you also see speed drops at peak times?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,612
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: FTTC Port Move = DLM reset?

Taken just now at 22:10, so not really maximum peak time:

This is the last one I took before my speed dropped:

Before 22:00 so still in peak time. My synch dropped about 15Mb (I have a separate thread going about that so won't hijack the OP's any further).