cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

rickw584
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-06-2018

FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

In the absence of being able to raise a question directly anymore, I'm posting here.

Has anyone else had the issue of the fibre connection speed dropping to ~1-2Mb?  I've had this happen several times now, rebooting the router clears the issue, but this is far from ideal!

Upload speeds remain good all the time....

Thanks,

10 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,265
Thanks: 771
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Have you tried using the test socket to rule out problems with internal wiring?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
N7ck
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Registered: 24-03-2017

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Yes I had this about a month ago. It just dropped to a stupidly low speed for a couple of hours on 3 different days.

I contacted Plusnet and they said usual cr*p "Have you changed anything".... No, i haven't changed anything for about 5 years!

But oddly, after I had a moan at them, it suddenly stopped happening.

Give them a call and have a moan xD

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 139
Thanks: 40
Fixes: 9
Registered: 26-03-2018

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi @rickw584,

I'm sorry to see that you're experiencing this issue. I've tested your line today and I can see that Downstream Sync Speed is currently performing at 79.9Mbps download speeds.

So that we can help diagnose where the issue lies, please can you confirm if this is happening through Wi-Fi and Ethernet connections and if it's happening across all of your devices?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
rickw584
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-06-2018

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi Alex,

It still seems to be ok at the moment, but when it does happen its with both copper and wifi.

I've attached a screenshot from a popular speedtest site, this shows a couple of the speed drops.

Thanks,

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 162
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-04-2017

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi @rickw584, thanks for getting back to us.

I believe what ever is causing the speeds to drop to the 1-2Mbps as you mentioned is purely on the throughput side of things. As looking at the graph below and recorded speeds over the last 15 or so days we haven't seen the speed flicker that's getting to the router. 

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 79.9 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 367.7
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-07-02T14:15:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 79.9 Mbps 79.9 Mbps 79.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps
Up Time 900.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 900.0 Sec
Retrains 0.0 0.0 0.0


With very few drops showing over the last 7 days and some I imagine are from when you've reset the router your side as you said?


image15306186031294

 

In which case, if so far you've noticed it's solely a router reboot that's returning the speed to normal I'd try a few other things before doing so upon next time it occurs to try narrow down what's causing it.

I'd suggest if possible to check a wired speed test on a second device to see if it relates to all devices connected.
When you notice the loss of speed is there anything demanding of the connection running in the background at all?
Also, the provided speed tests, were they all wired?

Do you use anything like power line adapters or wifi boosters that could be behind the intermittent speed drops at all?

Let us know how the above checks go and if there's any of the questions you can answer it may help us narrow down where the problem is coming from.




 Ben Devine
 Plusnet Help Team
rickw584
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-06-2018

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi Ben,

The issue has returned again and is still present if you can run your checks again.

I've tested from several devices each time, both (directly) wired and wireless with the same results.  Looking at the throughput stats on the router, there's no other traffic passing through to hog the bandwidth.

 

I'm working from home today, so can check a few things, but may need to restart the router at some point to get back to a decent speed.

Thanks,

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 328
Thanks: 98
Fixes: 20
Registered: 26-03-2018

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi @rickw584 

 

I've ran the tests for you again as you asked. 

 

 

The visual RADIUS shows a continued strong connection. 

 

Here is the GEA results; 

 

Test Outcome Pass

Test Outcome CodeGTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000

DescriptionGEA service test completed and no fault found .

Main Fault LocationOK

Sync StatusIn Sync

Downstream Speed79.9 Mbps

Upstream Speed20.0 Mbps

Appointment RequiredN

Fault Report AdvisedN

NTE Power StatusPowerOn

Voice Line Test ResultPass

Bridge TapDetected

Radio Frequency IngressNot Detected

Repetitive Electrical Impulse NoiseNot Detected

Cross TalkNot Detected

Estimated Line Length In Metres362.9

Upstream Rate AssessmentVery Good

Downstream Rate AssessmentVery Good

Interference PatternRegular Interference Observed on Week Days

Service ImpactNo Impact Observed

Interference Duration Longest OccurrenceFrom 16:45 to 22:00

Interference LocationOther

Interference Observed In Days3

Home Wiring ProblemNot Detected

Downstream Policing Discard Rate0.0

Customer Traffic LevelUpstream and Downstream Traffic Detected

TechnologyVDSL

Profile Name0.128M-80M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off 

 

I would echo Bens previous statements regarding throughput. 

 

Hope these test results help with your checks. 

 

Thanks 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alisdair C
 Plusnet Help Team
rickw584
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-06-2018

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi Alisdair, The connection was bounced yesterday morning and was working normally when you performed that test.

It has just, sometime in the last hour dropped off again.

BTW speedtest results attached.

rickw584
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 07-06-2018

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Several disconnect/reconnects made no difference, if anything worse.  I was unable to complete the BTW diags again due to a TAP3 error message.

Rebooted the router and connection is back to normal, although the router does initially say that it can't connect and I need to confirm the connection method.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,326
Thanks: 2,532
Fixes: 413
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: FIbre Speed Drops - Router Reboot required

Hi there.

TAP 3 generally isn't required anymore, the initial TAP1 test would be sufficient.

From what I can see the further diagnostics didn't complete at all.

What web browser are you using? I'd recommend trying Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge as other browsers aren't as reliable to work with the wholesale speedtest.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team