cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error on some websites

whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Error on some websites

Just moved from BT today (Fibre->Fibre).
My router has connected fine and I can browse the odd website but the vast majority just get re-directed to as "Failed Billing" URL.
Any clues? Will the connection eventually work?

18 REPLIES
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Hmmmm - are your payments up to date?
Check this out: http://www.plus.net/support/service/policies/failedbilling.shtml
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Yep payments are fine... Just joined today.
I'm not getting the failed payments URL now... but some sites work (google, fastmail ) and others don't (bbc, amazon)...
Very odd...
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

On the websites which don't work, what error messages are you seeing?
Are you connecting using wifi or ethernet?
Have you tried deleting your cache etc?
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Fixed Ethernet connection.
Have reboted router and caches cleared in Firefox
Error - "The connection was reset"
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Hmmm, Check this out: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1056868
Have you tried another browser? Chrome?
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Thanks for the helpful advice. I have tried other browsers - Chrome and IE with the same results...
Some sites work fine (uk.yahoo.com) but others (www.amazon.co.uk) fail to load... Possible some web cache/balancer  issue in the network.
Have raised with PlusNet ... let's see what happens.
My first day, not a good experience so far    Cry
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Hmmmm, lets hope they can help you.
Try to avoid resetting your router.
Hopefully it is something real simple that is wrong.
Have you tried rebooting your computer?
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Re: Error on some websites

> Have you tried rebooting your computer?
Yep... I'll start t get more worried if the issue is still there In the morning :-)
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Have you got other devices that you can test to see if you have similar problems?
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Re: Error on some websites

I have indeed tried other devices all with the same result...
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

I cannot think of anything else you can do.
It's really odd.
This link will tell you which gateway you're connected to: http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
You could make a note of it and log into the router and disconnect from the Internet and reconnect.
Leave it a few mins and check if you've changed internet gateways and see if the problem persists.
I'm assuming everything was ok with your previous ISP? Were you on fibre with them?
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
whall3y
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎14-08-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Tried that URL and got a message:
"The page isn't redirecting properly" with the URL in the address bar of "http://failed.billing.plus.net/apps/payment/failed" !!
Noticed that I can now access microsoft.com, but still no access to BBC/Amazon..
Yes, was with BT Infinity yesterday and was working fine...

Just noticed that it ALWAYS works with https:// , but fails with http:// ; --- So I think it is a caching issue in Plusnet land somewhere and the https:// will be forcing end-end encrypted communication that cannot be cached...
.

ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

When you called plusnet earlier, what did they say?
It's all very bizarre!
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-01-2015

Re: Error on some websites

Incidentally, are you using the supplied plusnet router or your homehub from BT?
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000