cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

racplus
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 20-03-2016

EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

Hi,
I have been using my EdgeRouter Lite for a couple of months without any problems but about two weeks ago after a reboot of the OpenReach box it won't get the right IP anymore. I paid for the static IP service when I signed up and it has worked flawlessly all this time with both, the Plusnet router and the EdgeRouter.
What I can see in the pppoe logs is that I'm getting a the wrong IP. My static IP is 213.1.102.XXX and I get a ConfNAK if I explicitly set the EdgeRouter config with it:
sent [CHAP Response id=0x1 <249930aa0d49fa1f2e916e2fde5038b6>, name = "username"]
rcvd [LCP EchoRep id=0x0 magic=0x3bd89f18]
rcvd [CHAP Success id=0x1 "CHAP authentication success, unit 9576"]
CHAP authentication succeeded: CHAP authentication success, unit 9576
CHAP authentication succeeded
peer from calling number 00:30:88:00:00:0A authorized
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x1 <addr 212.159.XXX.XXX> <ms-dns1 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns3 0.0.0.0>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0x53 <addr 213.1.102.1>]
ipcp: returning Configure-ACK
sent [IPCP ConfAck id=0x53 <addr 213.1.102.1>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x1 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x2 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x2 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
And if I don't specify it it's the same but without the ConfNak. I've never had to specify it when it used to work.
Any insights?
Thanks.
Ramon
9 REPLIES
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

You don't say if your internet is actually working?  This DNS addresses are for BT and the 172.16.xxx.xxx IP address is a private range.  Are you getting a BT error message when you use a browser?
[Edit]  Having re-read your post, and doing a nslookup on the 212.159.xxx.xxx address, it's possible that Plusnet have changed your IP address for some reason?
racplus
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 20-03-2016

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

Hi,
Internet is not working after the successful PPPOE CHAP authentication. The IP 212.159.XXX.XXX hasn't changed as with the Plusnet router my connection works (I'm writing this with it right now). The internal 172.16.XX.XX is the problem, I should be getting the 212.159.XXX.XXX as I used to but I'm not.
This all started after I had to restart my OpenReach box and after that the EdgeRouter got the 172.16.XXX.XXX for the first time and it hasn't got the right static IP any longer.
Cheers.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

I'm confused about what's going on and what you expect to happen?
You're being offered a 212.159.xxx.xxx address (you might want to edit the full address in your original post) when you use the PN router?  This address therefore is the address that PN have assigned to you so where does 213.1.102.xxx come into it?  The 212.159.xxx.xxx address resolves to a host name that looks like it may be yours?  [You may want PN to change the reverse DNS for this by the way]
The EdgeRouter log seems to show that it is also, as expected, being assigned the 212.159.xxx.xxx address but you're then trying to force the router to use the 213.1.102.xxx address so the BT Wholesale system is returning a BT private address?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

When you have a fixed IP you should NOT set the IP address in your router but leave it set it get the IP assigned when you connect.
The way the Plusnet system works is that you will be assigned the same IP address each time you connect.
If you go to https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=myconnection&?membermenu=connectionsettings you should have an icon that looks like this:

which will tell you if your fixed IP is still configured correctly and what it should be.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,110
Thanks: 465
Fixes: 17
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

I think the problem must be that the EdgeRouter Lite was not quite configured correctly to begin with, but it by chance it worked anyway, until something changed and now it doesn't connect to Plusnet. You need to check you've entered your username in the correct format username@plusdsl.net and it's set for VLAN id 101.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

The VLAN=101 bit is not needed if you're establishing a PPPoE connection via the OR modem...
The log shows that authentication is OK and a PN address is received...
An obvious change is the connection dropped and was reestablished and I suspect that this meant that the changed static IP was picked up.  Note the address that the OP had was in a BT allocation so this may be mixed up with the PN network changes?
racplus
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 20-03-2016

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

Thanks for all the suggestions. Analysing the log here to help with your insights:
1. Username and password are sent and authenticated. If I use the username@plusdsl.net as suggested, the authentication will fail:
sent [CHAP Response id=0x1 <249930aa0d49fa1f2e916e2fde5038b6>, name = "username"]
rcvd [LCP EchoRep id=0x0 magic=0x3bd89f18]
rcvd [CHAP Success id=0x1 "CHAP authentication success, unit 9576"]
CHAP authentication succeeded: CHAP authentication success, unit 9576
CHAP authentication succeeded
peer from calling number 00:30:88:00:00:0A authorized
2. Initially I hadn't specified my static IP and as explained by jelv I always got the correct IP address. The logs below is from whenI tried specifying the local IP with my static IP 212.159.XXX.XXX when it started failing but it doesn't work as you can see:
2.1 The router tries to specify IP that I set in the config and it leaves the DNS servers for the DHCP server to set:
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x1 <addr 212.159.XXX.XXX> <ms-dns1 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns3 0.0.0.0>]
2.2 The plusnet server gives back the PPPoE peer IP 213.1.102.1 and the EdgeRouter acknowledges setting it up. Note that this is the IP at the other end of the PPP connection:
rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0x53 <addr 213.1.102.1>]
ipcp: returning Configure-ACK
sent [IPCP ConfAck id=0x53 <addr 213.1.102.1>]
2.3 I think this means that the IP sent by the EdgeRouter (212.159.XXX.XXX) is not accepted:
rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x1 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
2.4 Finally the IP requested by the Plusnet end is configured locally instead of the 212.159.XXX.XXX which is the one that works with the Plusnet router and used to work with the EdgeRouter:
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x2 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x2 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
I don't believe static IP addresses are based on the MAC address of the router but rather on the username and password but if that was the case an additional test I could do is setting the MAC address of the Plusnet router in the EdgeRouter.
Thanks again for all of your suggestions.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

Quote from: racplus
Thanks for all the suggestions. Analysing the log here to help with your insights:
1. Username and password are sent and authenticated. If I use the username@plusdsl.net as suggested, the authentication will fail:

We're seeing 'password incorrect errors hitting our RADIUS server. If the username was incorrect then it wouldn't show anything.
Quote from: racplus
2. Initially I hadn't specified my static IP and as explained by jelv I always got the correct IP address. The logs below is from whenI tried specifying the local IP with my static IP 212.159.XXX.XXX when it started failing but it doesn't work as you can see:
2.1 The router tries to specify IP that I set in the config and it leaves the DNS servers for the DHCP server to set:
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x1 <addr 212.159.XXX.XXX> <ms-dns1 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns3 0.0.0.0>]

Although you are assigned the same IP address each time, this is actually still from a pool of IPs allocated as dynamic but just gives you the same one each time. You shouldn't try to set it as a static IP on your router.
Quote from: racplus
2.2 The plusnet server gives back the PPPoE peer IP 213.1.102.1 and the EdgeRouter acknowledges setting it up. Note that this is the IP at the other end of the PPP connection:
rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0x53 <addr 213.1.102.1>]
ipcp: returning Configure-ACK
sent [IPCP ConfAck id=0x53 <addr 213.1.102.1>]
2.3 I think this means that the IP sent by the EdgeRouter (212.159.XXX.XXX) is not accepted:
rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x1 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
2.4 Finally the IP requested by the Plusnet end is configured locally instead of the 212.159.XXX.XXX which is the one that works with the Plusnet router and used to work with the EdgeRouter:
sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x2 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]
rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x2 <addr 172.16.144.84> <ms-dns1 62.6.38.125> <ms-dns3 62.6.38.125>]

Every single one of your connections that's made it to our RADIUS is using your static IP, there are no other connections using anything but this.
Quote from: racplus
I don't believe static IP addresses are based on the MAC address of the router but rather on the username and password but if that was the case an additional test I could do is setting the MAC address of the Plusnet router in the EdgeRouter.

Correct, it's not based on the MAC address of the hardware, but on the authentication details.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
racplus
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 20-03-2016

Re: EdgeRouter not getting the right static IP

Quote from: Chris
Quote from: racplus
Thanks for all the suggestions. Analysing the log here to help with your insights:
1. Username and password are sent and authenticated. If I use the username@plusdsl.net as suggested, the authentication will fail:

We're seeing 'password incorrect errors hitting our RADIUS server. If the username was incorrect then it wouldn't show anything.

In the end, the problem was using the wrong password and as the logs only complained when I added the "@plusdsl.net" and showed a successful authentication without it (even with the wrong password) it was misleading. The fact that you saw in your RADIUS password incorrect errors gave me the tip.
Many thanks.