cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dynamic DNS Providers

mcderd
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Registered: 08-11-2016

Dynamic DNS Providers

Hello,

I am new here and before I sign up I have a question that Plusnet's support staff cannot sem to answer.

 

I am going for the Unlimited Fibre Extra and want to know if the supplied router allows setup of a Dynamic DNS service, if so which ones.

Below is a screen grab from my BT router so you can see the settings I am referring to, could someone please be so kind as to list the services offered on the Plusnet router?

settings.png

 

 

Many Thanks

 

 

 

 

 

6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,393
Thanks: 510
Fixes: 46
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Dynamic DNS Providers

Hi, The PlusNet Hub one is basically the same as the BT home hub 5 so I would see no reason why it would have a different DNS provider list. In any case you could always continue to use your BT hub with PlusNet, you just need to change the username/password in the connection details.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,228
Thanks: 1,318
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Dynamic DNS Providers

A one off fee of £5 will get you a fixed IP address. You can add one via your account.

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 632
Fixes: 42
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Dynamic DNS Providers

Here's one I prepared earlier Smiley

2016-08-25.png

But as @Mook points out it's only £5 for a static IP.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
mcderd
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: Dynamic DNS Providers

Good info, thanks

I don't remember having a username and password for BT, or entering in in the router?

From what you have said Plusnet would provide one?

Thaks again.

 

 

 

mcderd
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: Dynamic DNS Providers

Great info, I did not know that, Plusnet support did not suggest that either.

 

Many thanks

mcderd
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 4
Registered: 08-11-2016

Re: Dynamic DNS Providers

You are correct, it does look like the same options I get on BT router

 

Thanks