Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropouts - Verification

markos
Grafter

Dropouts - Verification

Hi,

I've had regular dropouts for a long time, it's not the end of the world (well, maybe for my kids mid-game etc!) but I wondered if there was indeed anything that could be done? I'm a web developer and have been working from home for over the last 20 years so I'm happy with the 60/20 connection speeds I roughly get, but the dropouts do seem to upset the rest of the house!

As a sample over the last week:

Failure    Start    Length
26/05/2021 00:10:48 0:02:45
26/05/2021 05:24:23 0:02:45
27/05/2021 09:58:34 0:00:32
27/05/2021 20:38:04 0:02:42
28/05/2021 09:54:25 0:02:38
28/05/2021 18:53:26 0:02:38
29/05/2021 02:07:11 0:01:34
31/05/2021 02:44:31 0:01:42
31/05/2021 02:50:24 0:02:43
02/06/2021 01:37:54 0:01:36
02/06/2021 06:34:10 0:02:40

This is very common - regularly twice a day, sometimes once, sometimes none and very occasionally three times! This possibly doesn't trigger any great concern from the wholesaler, but they don't have to face my kids who are mid-game or my wife losing a VOIP call to her new employer (an IT support company who keep asking if we've "spoken to our ISP about it yet?"!!).

Anything a support person could suggest or check would be great. But please don't mess with anything that will drop the speed - my FTP transfer rate is superb, and I don't want a noise/ratio thing imposed as before as it made no difference to the disconnections but dropped my speed massively!

Thank you! 😃

8 REPLIES 8
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 156

Re: Dropouts - Verification

Those durations look like resync is taking place, which implies line instability.  Do you see the colour of the router lights change during these events?