Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DoS Support

Marvo
Dabbler
Fixes: 1

DoS Support

Does PlusNet actually have any system protection for Denial of Service Attacks?

I have a Draytelk router on my Plusnet connection and seeinf high levels of DoS type traffic trying to get in through it.

Just wanted to see if anyone else is seeing it or if PN themselves have any form of pre-user protection in place.

8 REPLIES 8
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 254

Re: DoS Support

@Marvo I'm not an expert in this field, but the router is doing its job by blocking these attempts. I don't know, but I doubt any ISP would tell you publicly what their protection systems are.

John
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 41

@Marvo 

I'd agree with @jab1 .

There are always chancers probing for open ports, but as long as your internet is working OK then your router is doing its job and keeping the bad guys out.

Murphy was an optimist
Zen FTTC 40/10 + Digital Voice   FRITZ!Box 7530
BT technician (Retired)
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Marvo wrote:

Does PlusNet actually have any system protection for Denial of Service Attacks?

It depends what you mean by Denial of Service Attacks.

Typically a DoS attack involves someone on the internet sending a deluge of connection requests on a specific service port at your internet address THAT YOU USE (typically to allow access to a web server or other service on your network) in order to overwhelm the connection to prevent other people accessing the service you are providing - i.e. deny legitimate access to the service.