cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

FIXED
evan66
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 24-04-2017

Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

Hi,

l have fibre broadband with a plusnet hub one,

do I require a separate adsl2 modem if I want to use my dd-wrt router instead?

LINKSYS WRT1900ACS Wireless Cable & Fibre Router

thanks.

 

7 REPLIES
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,393
Thanks: 219
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

Yes, since it doesn't have an integrated xDSL modem. Though you actually need a VDSL2 modem as you have fibre
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

No, you could plug its WAN port into a LAN port of the Hun 1 and change the IP range of one of the routers if they are the same, or fiddle with DHCP - but if the router is clever enough it will sort it self out and change the IP range for you. My Netgear did!

Switching the WiFi off on the Hub 1 could help stop interference.

evan66
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 24-04-2017

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

Ok. Thanks both. Big help.

DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,393
Thanks: 219
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)


Mustrum wrote:

No, you could plug its WAN port into a LAN port of the Hun 1 and change the IP range of one of the routers if they are the same, or fiddle with DHCP



You are 'Double NATing' by doing that though, which isnt ideal and can cause issues with certain applications

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

Fix

True, but its worked fine for me, any applications you can think might be an issue?

DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,393
Thanks: 219
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

Gaming and VPNs and VOIP can be problematic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Do I require a separate modem if I use my own dd-wrt router (LINKSYS WRT1900ACS)

Cool, don't use any of those, but does give the OP, and me, useful info if we ever have issues.