cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I have speed issues?

stevemac555
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: 31-05-2016

Do I have speed issues?

I've noticed a drop in speed lately - I have only been a PN customer for a few months. It initially started out at around 56Mb download. Stats below...

 

SamKnows Whitebox.. 

 

SamKnows.png

 

Router Stats: 

5. DSL uptime: 3 days, 04:43:33
6. Data rate: 8188 / 52512
7. Maximum data rate: 8187 / 57197
8. Noise margin: 5.8 / 6.8
9. Line attenuation: 30.0 / 20.3
10. Signal attenuation: 29.2 / 19.5

 

And the DSL Speed Checker:

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 64.4 49 18.4 12.4 -- Available -- --
VDSL Range B (Impacted) 46.8 24.4 13.8 6 -- Available -- --

 

BT Speed Test

FAQ

Results Image not loaded

 

 1. Best Effort Test:
-provides background information.

  Download Speed
  46.03 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 50.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 46.03 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 35.58 Mbps-50.83 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 50.83 Mbps

2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  7.33 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 7.33Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

 

My upload speed is currently 4 below the 'Low' value and my download is has been slowly decreasing as you can see from the graph. My BT IP profile last week was at 54Mb, now I have lost 4Mb.

 

Does this look like a problem?

4 REPLIES
bobminors
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 158
Thanks: 34
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-09-2016

Re: Do I have speed issues?

To my inexpert eye, it looks as if your line is struggling, particularly on the upload side. I would have expected to see the attenuation roughly the same for upload and download, but upload is around 10dB worse. It might be worth putting in a fault report and getting the line checked, in case there is any degradation, noise, crosstalk or whatnot that is pulling your upload data rate down. Your download rate is within expectations, although only just, and it may be that the poor quality of the upload is causing the download rate to be dropped to compensate.

stevemac555
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: 31-05-2016

Re: Do I have speed issues?

Unfortunately... It's dropped again...

Samknows WhiteBox Downstream

 chart_1476822265.png

FAQ

Results Image not loaded

 

 


1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

  Download Speed
  40.99 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 45.4 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 40.99 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 31.78 Mbps-45.4 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 45.4 Mbps

2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  7.5 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 7.5Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

 

Now the max achievable is 45?? Actually getting 40 down. Although DSL Checker still says I should be getting:

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 64.4 49 18.4 12.4 -- Available -- --
VDSL Range B (Impacted) 46.8 24.4 13.8 6 -- Available -- --

 

Anyone got any ideas? The router hasn't moved, only been restarted twice in about 2 weeks.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,157
Thanks: 828
Fixes: 174
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Do I have speed issues?

Your connection is definitely in sync lower than we'd expect (46.9Mbps) given the estimates for your line.

 

Is there any noise on your phone line at all?

I'd suggest going through the troubleshooting steps advised here. However if this doesn't give any improvement, please raise a fault here so we can investigate further.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
stevemac555
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 2
Registered: 31-05-2016

Re: Do I have speed issues?

Thanks Harry, I will go through the steps again tonight when I get home.

 

Thank you.