cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disabling SIP ALG

FIXED
Grafter
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎19-09-2018

Disabling SIP ALG

Hi all

 

I see a few years ago this wasn't possible - is it possible now please? I'm trying to use a VOIP phone I use at work at home but it's not working.

Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,180
Thanks: 2,255
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

Fix

Assuming you have the PlusNet supplied Hub One, then No , I'm afraid it's not possible to disable the SIP ALG. 

Grafter
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎19-09-2018

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

That was easy - thank you. I have the white router with the big blue light on it.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,180
Thanks: 2,255
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

Yup, that's a Hub One. It's really not a good router for VOIP (SIP)

Grafter
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎19-09-2018

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

Ok thank you - any ideas what I should get instead? Work may pay for it.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,180
Thanks: 2,255
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

If cost is an issue then get a BT Business Smart Hub 6 from ebay. They can be configured for PlusNet and AFAIK you CAN disable the SIP ALG. (Note it MUST be the Business version)

Otherwise, I've successfully used a Draytek router and am currently using a Zyxel VMG3925-B10C, with my voip phone connected to the office PBX.  The Draytek routers are excellent but not cheap.

The basic criteria is that you must be able to disable any SIP ALG. I believe most of the TP Link routers will allow you to do this but I cant confirm that myself.

Here a starting list of VDSL modem routers ( I assume you want wifi as well ) https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/store/wifi-routers/vdsl-wifi-5-routers-ac/?sort=3&page=1#content

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,799
Thanks: 2,561
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

@ellythemoo 

If you are on a budget then get a BUSINESS BT Smarthub 6 from an auction site such as Ebay. Setting instructions are here  https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-the-BT-Smarthub-6-on-a-Plusnet-Account/m-p/1587673#M85....

Screenshot from my hub:

ALG2.jpg

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,180
Thanks: 2,255
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

@Baldrick1 thanks for confirming that the SIP ALG can be disabled on the Bus Hub

Grafter
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎19-09-2018

Re: Disabling SIP ALG

Thanks very much all!