cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Degrading in fibre quality/speed

disposalist
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: 13-07-2016

Degrading in fibre quality/speed

Hi.  I've had the service for quite a few months now and been happy but the last few days I've been having issues when gaming that point to network issues.  Checking the DSL stats in my router (an Asus DSL-AC68U) interface I get the following: -

DSL Information

DSL Firmware Version    1.0.3.9
DSL Driver Version           FwVer:5.5.2.4_A_A60901 HwVer:T14.F7_0.1
DSL modulation: ITU G.993.2(VDSL2)
ANNEX Mode: ANNEX A
DSL Exchange (DSLAM): Broadcom
Current Profile: 17a
Line Stats                                                                                                             

Downstream      Upstream
TCM(Trellis Coded Modulation) On          On
SNR        7.8 dB    14.0 dB
Line Attenuation              7.9 dB    13.5 dB
Path Mode         Interleaved        FastPath
Interleave Depth             1553       1
Data Rate            73388 kbps          19999 kbps
MAX Rate            117024 kbps       33475 kbps
POWER 13.1 dbm             0.4 dbm
INP         2.3 symbols        1.0 symbols
CRC        10543    111                                                                                                         

VDSL Band Status

U0          D1           U1          D2           U2          D3           U3          D4           U4
Line Attenuation (dB)    0              7.9          13.5        20.6        19.6        28.4        -              -              -
Signal Attenuation (dB) 0              15.3        13.3        20.3        19.4        30.3        -              -              -
SNR Margin (dB)               14.1        6.2          13.4        7.2          14.2        9              -              -             

Two things that stand out to me are: -

Downstream: Pathmode: Interleaved.

I though I was fastpath as, for gaming, I believe that is best (low pings, etc).

and

Downstream: CRC: 10543

Isn't this errors due to line problems?  I don't remember seeing any/many of these before now.

Checking my speed I get

 

A B rating for bufferbloat and quality is not a good sign.  Also, I was getting 72MB/s of a possible 79999kbps download when first connected (my data rate in my stats is now 73388 kbps).

I wonder if also you could check my settings: -

WAN Index

WAN Type: DSL VDSL WAN (PTM)

PVC Setting

WAN Connection Type: PPPoE

Enable WAN: Yes
Enable NAT: Yes
Enable UPnP: Yes

802.1Q

Enable: Yes
VLAN ID: 101
802.1P: 0

WAN IP Setting

Get the WAN IP automatically: Yes

WAN DNS Setting

Connect to DNS Server automatically: Yes

Account Settings

PPP Authentication: Auto
Disconnect after time of inactivity (in seconds): 0 seconds
MTU: 1492

Common Settings

DSL modulation: VDSL2
ANNEX Mode: Annex A
Dynamic Line Adjustment (DLA): Enabled
SRA (Seamless Rate Adaptation): Enabled
G.INP (G.998.4): Disabled

ADSL Settings

Stability Adjustment: Disabled
Rx AGC GAIN Adjustment: High Performance
ESNP - Enhanced Sudden Noise Protection: Default
Bitswap: Enabled

VDSL Settings   

VDSL Profile: 17a multi mode
Stability Adjustment: Disabled (Current SNR Margin: 5.3 dB)
Rx AGC GAIN Adjustment: High Performance
UPBO - Upstream Power Back Off: Auto
ESNP - Enhanced Sudden Noise Protection: Stable
Bitswap: Enabled
G.vector (G.993.5): Enabled
Non-standard G.vector (G.993.5): Disabled

Is there something going on with my service?  Should I be on fastpath downstream?  Are my settings correct?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,597
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 114
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Degrading in fibre quality/speed

Sorry to hear you're having issues.

With regards to interleaving we can't control this on fibre as DLM will add this if it thinks it is necessary.

Our tests are showing G.INP as being enabled on your line so it may be worth enabling it in the router to see if that helps matters.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
disposalist
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Degrading in fibre quality/speed

Are all my other settings ok?  Is there somewhere I can look to see what they should be?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,597
Thanks: 279
Fixes: 114
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Degrading in fibre quality/speed

They're all fine from what I can see.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,456
Thanks: 1,208
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Degrading in fibre quality/speed

@disposalist i have just checked my Router settings , the only thing different is my VDSL profile is set to 30a multi mode .

dont know if it makes a difference

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
disposalist
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Degrading in fibre quality/speed

Mine is since the factory reset.

disposalist
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: 13-07-2016

Re: Degrading in fibre quality/speed

15000 CRC errors in 10 days and terrible quality speed etc