cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DNS Issues?

JJ
Grafter
Posts: 229
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

Technicolor TG582n FTTC.  Telnet to router and changed them that way.
JJ
Grafter
Posts: 229
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

This might help anyone who wants to try.  If you are using windows 10 you will need to turn telnet on first.
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,125187.0.html/
John
buck1690
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 23-01-2013

Re: DNS Issues?

This is dreadful.  Connections almost unusuable due to DNS server errors...not really into telneting to my router thanks very much.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: DNS Issues?

Don't tell me Plusnet have remotely upgraded a lot of 582n routers to the v10 firmware, and now lots more people are hitting the 198.18.1.X spoofed IP address issue.
JJ
Grafter
Posts: 229
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

ejs  you could be right
Router has recently had a firmware upgrade  (not by me)
I would turn off dns spoofing however the way suggested 'elsewhere' is not available in version 10 of the firmware.
I have looked in the R10.2 CLI ref guide and there is nothing obvious.
I have spent most of today trying to fix this issue and have had to resort to using public dns servers, which is a rather unsatisfactory solution.
I feel sorry for the thousands who cant do this. They will just be looking for another ISP or being told to press the reset button!
Tomorrow I will have to go and 'bodge'  routers so they work for friends and family !!!!
John


Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: DNS Issues?

dns server config WANDownSpoofing=disabled is the same in the 8.4 and 10.2 CLI guide. It works on the 10.2.5.2 FO firmware that I installed on my 582n.
Plusnet can push out the config change remotely, but whether they are going to do that one by one when people ask, or to everyone who has been upgraded, who knows.
Stazbumpa
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 03-02-2016

Re: DNS Issues?

First I was like:
C:\Users\stazb_000>tracert ntp.plus.net
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    4 ms    3 ms    1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    15 ms    18 ms    23 ms  195.166.130.213
  3    14 ms    22 ms    12 ms  link2-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net [84.93.249.162]
  4    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
  5    15 ms    16 ms    16 ms  po2.ptw-gw02.plus.net [195.166.129.39]
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    16 ms    15 ms    15 ms  cdns01.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
Trace complete.
Then I was like:
C:\Users\stazb_000>tracert nexusmods.com
Tracing route to nexusmods.com [77.72.3.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    2 ms    2 ms    3 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    13 ms    14 ms    14 ms  195.166.130.213
  3    17 ms    16 ms    14 ms  link1-central10.pcl-ag06.plus.net [84.93.249.161]
  4    16 ms    16 ms    18 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  5    16 ms    14 ms    14 ms  gi3-0.lonth-inter-1.interoute.net [195.66.224.53]
  6    14 ms    14 ms    16 ms  ge1-1.gr-pe-2.gr.thebunker.net [89.202.131.42]
  7    17 ms    16 ms    16 ms  eth4-2.gr-bgp-1.gr.core.thebunker.net [37.200.112.74]
  8    17 ms    16 ms    14 ms  tengeth2-1.gr-bgp-2.gc.core.thebunker.net [213.129.95.142]
  9    17 ms    16 ms    16 ms  tengeth2-1.thn-bgp-2.thn.core.thebunker.net [213.129.95.150]
10    18 ms    15 ms    15 ms  eth2-2.thn-pe-1.thn.core.thebunker.net [37.200.112.61]
11    15 ms    16 ms    16 ms  xe-5-3-2.lon11.ip4.gtt.net [46.33.90.17]
12    25 ms    24 ms    24 ms  xe-1-1-3.ams12.ip4.gtt.net [89.149.185.93]
13    23 ms    21 ms    23 ms  pni-as3257-ams1.staminus.net [69.197.1.74]
14    *        *        *    Request timed out.
15    31 ms    33 ms    31 ms  . [72.8.137.62]
16    32 ms    32 ms    30 ms  77.72.0.6
17    34 ms    32 ms    32 ms  77-72-3-1.hosted-at.kloud.co.uk [77.72.3.1]
Trace complete.
===============================================================
Spoke to a plusnet person online who suggested that nexusmods.com might have a DNS issue and that I should swap my DNS for the Google one to test it.  I've done this and I'm getting the same problem in that nexusmods.com (which was working this evening just fine) is now completely unreachable.  However, I can reach it if I go via TOR and that's without using Google's DNS setting too.
goodviews
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-03-2015

Re: DNS Issues?

I am also having difficulties. Many times I get page cannot be found. BBC.co.uk, www.lrrn.org, facebook.com, google.co.uk and many others
My 'speed' reports are ok.
I was blaming it on Bing or windows 10 or my computer or many things but it now seems to be a DNS problem. My router is set to the plusnet standards 9 and 10
Namebench says this but I cannot change my DNS
It is irritating.
marcusk
Grafter
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Registered: 18-03-2013

Re: DNS Issues?

Quote from: buck1690
This is dreadful.  Connections almost unusuable due to DNS server errors...not really into telneting to my router thanks very much.

Yes, this ^^^^^^
I really don't think that I have to learn what are, to me, the dark arts of command line adjustments to my router, can Plusnet really not resolve this. Do I have to tour my home and change the local DNS settings on every connected device?
Highlighted
JJ
Grafter
Posts: 229
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

ejs  Thanks  It was my fault. Typo, wrote WANDDown !!!!!

John
medric
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-10-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

Experienced these problems since Friday evening.  Changed DNS to google 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 last night and they went way immediately.  In my experience any website can be affected.  I had two browsers in use, IE11 and Firefox.  I could try Hotmail in IE and it would fail.  I tried it in FF and it would get through.  Then I could try BBC in FF which would fail but in IE it would open.  I have had Ebay load auction details bit refuse to give me the photos to go with them.  I have had a BBC page load but refuse to load the associated video.  All of this is random and will work eventually if I persist.  Change of DNS cured all of these problems.
@PlusNet - if you want me to test anything to help you sort this then please let me know.
@People - You don't need to change the DNS settings in your router, just tell your computer not to get DNS automatically and put the settings in instead.  Worked for me.
meyre68
Grafter
Posts: 46
Registered: 12-03-2013

Re: DNS Issues?

Quote from: ejs
Quote from: meyre68
Pinging bbc.co.uk [198.18.1.216] with 32 bytes of data:

So your problem is probably the Technicolor 198.18.1. IP address issue. Either you can apply the config change described here or get Plusnet to do it remotely for you. Or you could configure your computer to use the Plusnet DNS servers (212.159.6.9 and 212.159.6.10) directly, bypassing the DNS server in the router.

I think I'd prefer Plusnet to do this remotely for me. I read until Telneting into it and stopped. I don't want to completely ruin my connection Cheesy  
I've have the same issue in other browsers too. Chrome, Firefox, IE and Edge.
Btw is it the IPv4 setting where I can manually change the DNS? Do I leave the IPv6 as automatic?
medric
Dabbler
Posts: 11
Registered: 29-10-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

Quote from: meyre68

Btw is it the IPv4 setting where I can manually change the DNS? Do I leave the IPv6 as automatic?

Yes, change the IPv4 only
goodviews
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-03-2015

Re: DNS Issues?

I cannot get bbc news or Eurostar
deadkenny
Grafter
Posts: 232
Thanks: 2
Registered: 13-09-2007

Re: DNS Issues?

Working around the issue by changing DNS to an open public DNS isn't really the solution.
It looks like PN have updated the router firmware and that's broken DNS resolution for the LAN. You don't want to be going round each PC and device changing DNS server settings (in some cases you may not be able to). You don't also want to be trusting an open public DNS. Okay it is Google people are recommending, but still, and what's the lag like on resolution compared to PlusNet's which are far closer?