cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DLM failed to recover speed.

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

DLM failed to recover speed.

Last Friday/Saturday power kept failing causing modem/router to go and off at intervals, house fault corrected Monday.
Download speed  was dropped by DLM from 32+/33 MB to 29 MB I expected DLM over a couple of days to restored back up but it as not.
When electricity went off last time in November 2015 at the sub station same happened and I raised a ticket after several replies telling nothing wrong and me being unhappy PlusNet reset line and since I got back to 32+/33 Mb.
It wasn't reset to full 38 Mb I recall it was 36 Mb can our PlusNet forum helper get me done again please to avoid me spending several days with several message too and fro with another ticket.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
14 REPLIES
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

As response do we think PlusNet not viewing and responding in these Forums?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Andrue
Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 90
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Not over the weekend, no. Well. Sometimes some of them do but that represents unusual dedication to their job. If you want 24/7/52 support you need a different kind of ISP.
mav:quote
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Thanks, yes was Friday afternoon I first posted in that case looking forward to a reply here tomorrow Monday.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Smiley
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

We can't reset fibre lines, if you are below the estimates it needs reporting as a fault to us and the line will only be reset once an engineer has decided that it needs doing I'm afraid.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Well PlusNet reset the line to 36 Mb last November to give me back 32+/33 Mb as I had previously following a mains power failure.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

We can adjust our connection profile but this will make no difference at all if it's the sync speed causing the issue. We cannot (and have never been able to) reset/adjust the BT IP Profile or affect a Fibre line directly.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

I'm not technical but I thought there were 2 figures the one quoted on your line reports which presently is 31 Mb and the resulting download speed of 29 Mb which the speed testers are reporting me.
This is the same situation I was in when I raised a ticket last November but to correct it then PlusNet increased something to 36 Mb which got my download reports to 32+/33 Mb as previously enjoyed before the power cuts.
Can you have this done for me please?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

The profile on our side is already set higher than it should be (it should be slightly under the sync speed of your line) at 36000. Your IP profile (which is controlled by the DLM based directly from the sync) is 31.1Mbps, we cannot alter this.
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 32.1 Mbps
Upstream Speed 5.3 Mbps
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

So what is my way forward then?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Quote from: Chris
We can't reset fibre lines, if you are below the estimates it needs reporting as a fault to us and the line will only be reset once an engineer has decided that it needs doing I'm afraid.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

This is what PlusNet did last September, until just over a week ago when power failed at my home, all I'm requesting is the same again please.
From that reset until last week I got a steady 32+/33 Mb.

[Removed] - CSC Analyst
5:43pm, Wednesday 23 Sep 2015
Dear Mr Park,
Thanks for getting back in touch.
I have reset your line profile to 35 today, and we can now allow DLM to take over.
If you do not see any improvement with 3-5 working days (following a modem and router reboot) then please raise a fault via the link below:
Raise a Fault online
I do hope that the reset resolved the issue.
There is no need to reply to this ticket if the matter is resolved. If you wish to close this ticket you can do so via the following link: Close This Ticket. Alternatively it will automatically close in 14 days.
However, if you feel the matter needs further investigation do not hesitate to get back in touch on 0800 432 0200 from a Land line and 0345 140 0200 via Mobile if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
[Removed]
** INTERNAL **
Set WP prof to 35000
mav:csa
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Quote from: dnpark38
Set WP prof to 35000

That is *not* the same issue you're reporting now, your WP profile (our connection profile) is already at 36000. This is not causing any issues.
The problem this time is your *sync* speed, this is defined between your premises and the cabinet, we cannot alter this.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: DLM failed to recover speed.

Before reporting a fault for OR intervention have rebooted the modem.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png