cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DLM after line fault?

ericelgato
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎23-01-2013

DLM after line fault?

On November 17th I had a line fault. The phone was dead but the FTTC was still working (at a much reduced speed). BT fixed the problem on November 20th.
Prior to the fault my connection was running at 65/17, since the day of the fault it has been running at 28/4.
According to my modem the attainable rate is currently 73/23.
Is this something DLM will fix on it's own, and if so how long should it take to see any improvement?
Ta.
28 REPLIES
redbull2k14
Grafter
Posts: 160
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎29-01-2014

Re: DLM after line fault?

about 9 days i believe,
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎29-01-2009

Re: DLM after line fault?

I think 9 days is the minimum, provided DLM doesn't see any further evidence that your line should continue to keep intervention in place.
http://community.plus.net/library/browsing/fttc-dlm-what-it-is-how-it-works/
I have had DLM intervene twice; once due to a fault on the line, which took a month to recover from; and once from hitting the error threshold, which took around 2 months to recover from.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
ericelgato
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎23-01-2013

Re: DLM after line fault?

Thanks for the replies.
I guess I'll just have to wait and see.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎11-12-2013

Re: DLM after line fault?

it wont fix as DLM is now been turned off, call plusnet and tell them you want a profile reset, the problem you may have is that plusnet front line staff may be unaware DLM is now disabled.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: DLM after line fault?

DLM has not been turned off...
No idea where you got this information from!
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2014

Re: DLM after line fault?

DLM has not been turned off... No idea where you got this information from!
see http://www.thinkbroadband.com/news/6726-assia-court-case-forces-openreach-to-turn-off-dlm.html
I hadn't noticed till a post by goldenfibre on another thread here. Looks like it is correct. I did notice this morning that a intermittent severe brown-out and two power cuts had left me with higher sync speeds.
adie:green - corrected link.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DLM after line fault?

Quote from: chrcoluk
it wont fix as DLM is now been turned off, call plusnet and tell them you want a profile reset, the problem you may have is that plusnet front line staff may be unaware DLM is now disabled.

And whether or not DLM is still having any impact on the line, we still have no tool to reset the line. We need to follow processes for this type of issue.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
ericelgato
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎23-01-2013

Re: DLM after line fault?

Where does this leave my connection?
Should I be logging it as an issue, or do I just wait and see?
My modem is currently showing the following...

Speedtest.net has shown some improvement (from 28/4 to 36/4), but the line rate as reported by the modem is unchanged since the 22nd.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DLM after line fault?

Can you run through the BT speedtester and do the 'further diagnostics' test after the first one completes. http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/
We're looking for the profile the line is set at.
Hmm, doing a quick test on your line shows the following:
Quote
Description Potential Copper Joint Fault. Continue submitting trouble report

Is there any noise on your phone line at all when you dial 17070?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
ericelgato
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎23-01-2013

Re: DLM after line fault?

This is the diagnostic result...

They've seriously reduced my connection profile since I checked a couple of days ago.
There isn't any obvious line noise at the moment.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: DLM after line fault?

Quote
There isn't any obvious line noise at the moment.

At the moment - does this mean there sometimes is?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
ericelgato
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎23-01-2013

Re: DLM after line fault?

No. I haven't noticed any noise on the line in normal use, and there's nothing noticeable on the quiet line test.
When I had the line fault there was no dial tone and a lot of crackling.
The fault was fixed without a visit to my house. I'm assuming they accidently dislodged something when they were working on my other line.
petecov44
Grafter
Posts: 576
Registered: ‎29-05-2014

Re: DLM after line fault?

Quote from: AndyH
DLM has not been turned off...
No idea where you got this information from!

Do catch up!
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,848
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: DLM after line fault?

@AndyH (the DLM is turned off for all FTTC as of 21/11/14) but it will not reset DLM by default.