cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current Line Speed 21

BL-TZ
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2016

Current Line Speed 21

Hi,

After noticing a drop in speed yesterday morning 36Mbps down to 30Mbps, which was solved with a quick reboot of the Openreach modem (I put this down to the recent maintenance). I've seen that the Current Line Speed shown in the Members Centre has dropped to 21 (It's been at 38 for over 18 months). It doesn't appear to have affected my download speed which has returned back to 36Mbps. However I'm curious as to how I'm getting full speed if the line has dropped?
9 REPLIES
anniesboy
Grafter
Posts: 385
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2011

Re: Current Line Speed 21

I am getting similar result, current line speed showing 21.

Im actually getting 33.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Current Line Speed 21

On FTTC, the Plusnet current line speed is only applied when the router logs into Plusnet to create a PPP session. So next time you reboot the router, or disconnect/connect from the router's admin page then that speed will be applied.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed 21

Only if they are on the old network Wink The profile shown there is largely irrelevant on the new network.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
BL-TZ
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2016

Re: Current Line Speed 21

Well I've noticed that the gateway checker is giving me errors too so does that mean that I'm on the new network?
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Current Line Speed 21

@BL-TZ

What does the output from the gateway checker actually say? 

BL-TZ
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2016

Re: Current Line Speed 21

Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.

Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Issues topic in the Community forums will help us to diagnose the problem.

core2-hu0-18-0-0.colindale.ukcore.bt.net (62.172.103.16) 3.692 ms
*
*
*
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Current Line Speed 21

That is the new network 

And that error was reported on 17-06-2016 so still not fixed.

BL-TZ
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2016

Re: Current Line Speed 21

Fair enough, I've seen plenty of references to the 'new network' just to need to read up on what it all means I guess Smiley
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 586
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Current Line Speed 21