cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 972
Registered: 28-12-2012

Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

An odd fault has happened twice. The problem is:
Lost wi-fi to our Internet Radio and Smart TV - expect that wi-fi to mobile phones work fine, plus ethernet connection. (NB: Line is stable for for 6 weeks at a time)
If I reboot the TG582 router all is well again for a few days then the issue comes back - well it has twice.
Any clues to the solution?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 5
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

I suggest, while the two devices are connected OK,  going to the routers network settings for each device and placing a tick in the box "always use the same IP address"
I suspect the issue your seeing is not unusual with the Technicolor router and devices which have long periods in sleep mode.
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 972
Registered: 28-12-2012

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

Thanks very much for the advise. Under 'Local Network Drives' I have quite a few interfaces under WLAN, some have IP address's shown, others show '0.0.0.0'.
Should have change them all to "always use the same IP address", or just the ones showing '0.0.0'?Huh
Would the IP address of the device stay the same although I don't use a static IP with Plusnet?Huh
(It is not clear which are the tv & radio from the devices shown!!!)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

Steven, what firmware version is your TG582n using?
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 972
Registered: 28-12-2012

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

10.2.5.2 - BTW I've found the two devices and changed the devices to "always use the same IP address".
Any other suggestions? Is this a known issue with the new firmware?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

Wireless was supposedly improved in the 10.2 firmware IIRC. Do you know how long you've had that version & is it the EO or FO version? You mentioned that your problem has happened twice, are they both very recent?
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 972
Registered: 28-12-2012

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

The update of firmware I think, going on memory about 10 days ago.
The software update is 10.2.5.2.FO
Any further ideas?Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

If you were previously on 8.C.M.0 firmware, and the problem is continuing, then it may be down to this WANDownSpoofing issue that's causing DNS issues. There is a fix.
Are you familiar with Telnet? You need Telnet to be activated on your OS.
Open a cmd window and type      telnet 192.168.1.254
You'll then be prompted for a username .....    admin
and then the password (the TG582n's serial number)
At the telnet prompt, enter the following commands.
dns server config WANDownSpoofing = disabled
dns server debug spoof clear
dns server debug spoof list
saveall
exit
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 972
Registered: 28-12-2012

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

Many thanks - yes I am familiar with Telnet. I've done what you suggested (which won't do any harm) and will see over the next week if connections stay put.
Again thanks for your suggestions.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Could this be a faulty TG 582n??

You are welcome.