cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could my speed be better?

aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Could my speed be better?

So since initially moving to 80/20, we had a problem with our cab that was causing drop outs and the speed tanked to 30/10. It's since been resolved at I'm synced at 67/20. I'm wondering if the line would support a higher speed taking a look at the router stats?

 

============================================================================
VDSL Training Status: Showtime
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL Profile: Profile 17a
Traffic Type: PTM Mode
Link Uptime: 15 days: 1 hour: 5 minutes
============================================================================
VDSL Port Details Upstream Downstream
Line Rate: 20.063 Mbps 66.996 Mbps
Actual Net Data Rate: 19.999 Mbps 66.997 Mbps
Trellis Coding: ON ON
SNR Margin: 15.2 dB 7.8 dB
Actual Delay: 0 ms 0 ms
Transmit Power: 6.9 dBm 13.1 dBm
Receive Power: -8.1 dBm -3.5 dBm
Actual INP: 0.0 symbols 51.0 symbols
Total Attenuation: 15.1 dB 16.6 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate: 24.812 Mbps 75.169 Mbps
============================================================================
VDSL Band Status U0 U1 U2 U3 D1 D2 D3
Line Attenuation(dB): 4.7 21.6 31.5 N/A 12.1 27.8 42.4
Signal Attenuation(dB): 4.7 20.8 30.4 N/A 13.4 27.6 42.4
SNR Margin(dB): 15.3 15.3 15.2 N/A 7.8 7.8 7.8
Transmit Power(dBm):- 3.6 -21.7 6.6 N/A 9.7 7.9 6.8
============================================================================

VDSL Counters

Downstream Upstream
Since Link time = 5 min 53 sec
FEC: 389325373 5313
CRC: 35 968
ES: 32 839
SES: 7 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 28 sec
FEC: 188 3
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 562 2
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 6 min 28 sec
FEC: 2164 31
CRC: 0 1
ES: 0 1
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC: 776460 346
CRC: 0 66
ES: 0 57
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Total time = 1 days 1 hours 6 min 28 sec
FEC: 389325373 5313
CRC: 35 968
ES: 32 839
SES: 7 0
UAS: 34 34
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
============================================================================

 

Thanks all Smiley

124 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Could my speed be better?

It's probably banded at 67Mb, and might go slightly faster, 75Mb according to the max attainable rate, if it weren't.

aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Could my speed be better?

Is it possible to request that the line be unbanded/rebanded?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Could my speed be better?

Sort of, in that it requires an Openreach engineer visit. Plusnet may or may not want to send an engineer, depending randomly on whoever looks at the fault you'd have to raise.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Could my speed be better?

Hello there @aj007

If that is the case, a Fibre line can only be reset by an Openreach engineer after a fault has been resolved.

We wouldn't be able to arrange an engineer visit to specifically reset the line I'm afraid.

The DLM software in the exchange should remove the banding by itself if it feels the line can cope with any higher speeds.

Having said this, if you private message me with your username I'll be happy to run a few tests once I'm in the office on Monday to see if there are any faults detected or any issues with the connection.
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Could my speed be better?

Hi Anoush will do. 

 

The background to this is that our exchange was a hot VP. For whatever reason, no interleaving on G.INP would apply to our line so it tanked our speed instead. Engineer came on Sept 6th to confirm our line was fine but that the exchange was the cause. Line was reset on the 7th but the speed dropped again. 

The profile was reset on the 25th after our line was migrated to a cooler vlan but before works were completed to expand the exchange (which was due on the 30th). There were still quite a few errors and speed fluctuation but nowhere near as bad - probably because interleaving and G.INP were added. 

After the work was completed, all of the issues disappeared and the errors have been minimal, but it doesn't appear that our line was reset again?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Could my speed be better?

I thought that wasn't quite what Anoush said last time, but I've read it again and perhaps that was rather ambiguous. Anyway, what Anoush said this time is more consistent with my understanding of the system.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Could my speed be better?

Hmm, if I remember correctly last time the banding caused the customers speed to be below the estimated range so we would arrange an engineer visit.

I'm assuming this isn't the case here, but I can't confirm. I'll update this thread on Monday. Smiley

Apologies for any confusion.
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Could my speed be better?

According to their other thread, their speed was within estimates. Hence my comment about the willingness to send out an engineer wildly varying for no apparent reason. Has Plusnet run out of budget for SFI/boost engineer visits for this month?

aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Could my speed be better?

That's unfortunate, another 6-8mbps would be a over my current line speed is a good 15% boost Sad

The reason I mention the previous fault was that the engineer reset our line before the final fix, not after the exchange was upgraded and the issues fully resolved. 

 

I hate to be that annoying guy who's complaining about speed when it's actually really good, I'm just convinced looking at the stats that it's capable of being better Smiley These are the stats after 16 days: 

FEC: 389391723 5740
CRC: 35 1045
ES: 32 908
SES: 7 0
UAS: 34 34
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Could my speed be better?

Apologies that I haven't been in touch yet.

I'll update you tomorrow.
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Could my speed be better?

Thank you for your PM @aj007 and for your patience

 

As the banding set to 67 Mbps is not restricting your sync speed of 64 Mbps, we wouldn't arrange an engineer visit to reset your line I'm afraid.

From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Could my speed be better?

No worries. 

 

I'm kinda surprised tbh that our line wasn't reset after the problem was fixed? Is that not a reasonable thing to do?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,081
Thanks: 440
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Could my speed be better?


Anoush wrote:

Thank you for your PM @aj007 and for your patience

 

As the banding set to 67 Mbps is not restricting your sync speed of 64 Mbps, we wouldn't arrange an engineer visit to reset your line I'm afraid.


Eh? The sync speed was 66.997 Mbps in the first post, not 64 Mbps. That's how we could tell it was banded! Has the sync speed changed since then?

aj007
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 4
Registered: 19-12-2012

Re: Could my speed be better?

Nope, still 67.

 

====================================================================================
VDSL Training Status: Showtime
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL Profile: Profile 17a
G.Vector: Disable
Traffic Type: PTM Mode
Link Uptime: 0 day: 16 hours: 32 minutes
====================================================================================
VDSL Port Details Upstream Downstream
Line Rate: 20.063 Mbps 66.996 Mbps
Actual Net Data Rate: 19.999 Mbps 66.997 Mbps
Trellis Coding: ON ON
SNR Margin: 15.0 dB 7.4 dB
Actual Delay: 0 ms 0 ms
Transmit Power: 6.9 dBm 13.0 dBm
Receive Power: -8.2 dBm -3.5 dBm
Actual INP: 0.0 symbols 51.0 symbols
Total Attenuation: 0.0 dB 17.2 dB
Attainable Net Data Rate: 23.864 Mbps 73.842 Mbps
==================================================================================== 

Is that not the definition of banded? Smiley

 

Out of interest, is G.Vector the same as G.INP?