cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

In the not too distant future FTTC will be available to me (cab being installed today and trench being dug for the power as I post).
I have a spare TG582. Seeing some of the comments being posted about the new router I'm wondering if I can convert the spare to FTTC mode. Are there any instructions on what needs to be done? It occurred to me that I might be able to test it prior to getting FTTC by putting my ADSL router in to modem only mode and doing the PPPoE session on the converted router.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

Is it not just a case of applying the Fibre firmware to the router?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

I don't know - it would be nice if it was that simple! I thought the TG582 for FTTC was slightly different hardware.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

IIRC the fibre one has USB port, I don't think it causes any problem having the USB in the firmware if the port isn't there (I think someone said the ADSL firmware actually contains the USB driver anyway).
There's definitely been previous discussion about this in the forum but I guess you'd need to do quite a bit of searching to find it.

Would this be relevant?  http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,133628.msg1168204.html#msg1168204
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

Looks like that helps.
Is the only difference between Plusnet - FTTC - TG582n (with USB port) - 10.2.5.2.EO and Plusnet - FTTC - TG582n (with USB port) - 10.2.5.2.FO the multi-cast support?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Converting TG582 from ADSL to FTTC

As far as I'm aware yes
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team